aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/vm/Makefile
AgeCommit message (Collapse)Author
2015-05-14tools/vm: fix page-flags buildAndi Kleen
libabikfs.a doesn't exist anymore, so we now need to link with libapi.a. Signed-off-by: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com> Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com> Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2014-12-13mm/page_owner: keep track of page ownersJoonsoo Kim
This is the page owner tracking code which is introduced so far ago. It is resident on Andrew's tree, though, nobody tried to upstream so it remain as is. Our company uses this feature actively to debug memory leak or to find a memory hogger so I decide to upstream this feature. This functionality help us to know who allocates the page. When allocating a page, we store some information about allocation in extra memory. Later, if we need to know status of all pages, we can get and analyze it from this stored information. In previous version of this feature, extra memory is statically defined in struct page, but, in this version, extra memory is allocated outside of struct page. It enables us to turn on/off this feature at boottime without considerable memory waste. Although we already have tracepoint for tracing page allocation/free, using it to analyze page owner is rather complex. We need to enlarge the trace buffer for preventing overlapping until userspace program launched. And, launched program continually dump out the trace buffer for later analysis and it would change system behaviour with more possibility rather than just keeping it in memory, so bad for debug. Moreover, we can use page_owner feature further for various purposes. For example, we can use it for fragmentation statistics implemented in this patch. And, I also plan to implement some CMA failure debugging feature using this interface. I'd like to give the credit for all developers contributed this feature, but, it's not easy because I don't know exact history. Sorry about that. Below is people who has "Signed-off-by" in the patches in Andrew's tree. Contributor: Alexander Nyberg <alexn@dsv.su.se> Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Dave Hansen <dave@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Michal Nazarewicz <mina86@mina86.com> Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Jungsoo Son <jungsoo.son@lge.com> Signed-off-by: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave@sr71.net> Cc: Michal Nazarewicz <mina86@mina86.com> Cc: Jungsoo Son <jungsoo.son@lge.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2013-12-16tools/: Convert to new topic librariesBorislav Petkov
Move debugfs.* to api/fs/. We have a common tools/lib/api/ place where the Makefile lives and then we place the headers in subdirs. For example, all the fs-related stuff goes to tools/lib/api/fs/ from which we get libapikfs.a (acme got almost the naming he wanted :-)) and we link it into the tools which need it - in this case perf and tools/vm/page-types. acme: "Looking at the implementation, I think some tools can even link directly to the .o files, avoiding the .a file altogether. But that is just an optimization/finer granularity tools/lib/ cherrypicking that toolers can make use of." Fixup documentation cleaning target while at it. Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de> Acked-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com> Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@gmail.com> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Robert Richter <rric@kernel.org> Cc: Stanislav Fomichev <stfomichev@yandex-team.ru> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1386605664-24041-2-git-send-email-bp@alien8.de Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
2013-03-15tools/vm: Switch to liblk libraryBorislav Petkov
page-flags.c had some older version of debugfs_mount copied from perf so convert it to using the version in the tools library. Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Wu Fengguang <fengguang.wu@intel.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1361374353-30385-8-git-send-email-bp@alien8.de Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
2012-03-28mm: move slabinfo.c to tools/vmDave Young
We have tools/vm/ folder for vm tools, so move slabinfo.c from tools/slub/ to tools/vm/ Signed-off-by: Dave Young <dyoung@redhat.com> Cc: Wu Fengguang <fengguang.wu@intel.com> Acked-by: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2012-03-28mm: move page-types.c from Documentation to tools/vmDave Young
tools/ is the better place for vm tools which are used by many people. Moving them to tools also make them open to more users instead of hide in Documentation folder. This patch moves page-types.c to tools/vm/page-types.c. Also add a Makefile in tools/vm and fix two coding style problems: a) change const arrary to 'const char * const', b) change a space to tab for indent. Signed-off-by: Dave Young <dyoung@redhat.com> Acked-by: Wu Fengguang <fengguang.wu@intel.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>