aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/vm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorTobin C. Harding <tobin@kernel.org>2019-07-11 20:59:38 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2019-07-12 11:05:46 -0700
commit1106b205a3fe034beafad24045b7c00a7eb89669 (patch)
tree074303cf543acbf27b66634e143aa93dacd9d8f2 /tools/vm
parentd914999689609d45b36db2b0fabb05cf7fc1fa1f (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-1106b205a3fe034beafad24045b7c00a7eb89669.tar.gz
tools/vm/slabinfo: add partial slab listing to -X
We would like to see how fragmented the SLUB allocator is, one window into fragmentation is the total number of partial slabs. Currently `slabinfo -X` shows slabs sorted by loss and by size. We can use this option to also show slabs sorted by number of partial slabs. Option '-X' can be used in conjunction with '-N' to control the number of slabs shown e.g. list of top 5 slabs: slabinfo -X -N5 Add list of slabs ordered by number of partial slabs to output of `slabinfo -X`. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190426022622.4089-3-tobin@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Tobin C. Harding <tobin@kernel.org> Cc: Alexander Duyck <alexander.duyck@gmail.com> Cc: Brendan Gregg <brendan.d.gregg@gmail.com>, Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Jesper Dangaard Brouer <brouer@redhat.com> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@iki.fi> Cc: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw> Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/vm')
-rw-r--r--tools/vm/slabinfo.c41
1 files changed, 28 insertions, 13 deletions
diff --git a/tools/vm/slabinfo.c b/tools/vm/slabinfo.c
index e9b5437b2f28..3f3a2db65794 100644
--- a/tools/vm/slabinfo.c
+++ b/tools/vm/slabinfo.c
@@ -79,6 +79,7 @@ int sort_size;
int sort_active;
int set_debug;
int show_ops;
+int sort_partial;
int show_activity;
int output_lines = -1;
int sort_loss;
@@ -1047,6 +1048,8 @@ static void sort_slabs(void)
result = slab_activity(s1) < slab_activity(s2);
else if (sort_loss)
result = slab_waste(s1) < slab_waste(s2);
+ else if (sort_partial)
+ result = s1->partial < s2->partial;
else
result = strcasecmp(s1->name, s2->name);
@@ -1307,27 +1310,39 @@ static void output_slabs(void)
}
}
+static void _xtotals(char *heading, char *underline,
+ int loss, int size, int partial)
+{
+ printf("%s%s", heading, underline);
+ line = 0;
+ sort_loss = loss;
+ sort_size = size;
+ sort_partial = partial;
+ sort_slabs();
+ output_slabs();
+}
+
static void xtotals(void)
{
+ char *heading, *underline;
+
totals();
link_slabs();
rename_slabs();
- printf("\nSlabs sorted by size\n");
- printf("--------------------\n");
- sort_loss = 0;
- sort_size = 1;
- sort_slabs();
- output_slabs();
+ heading = "\nSlabs sorted by size\n";
+ underline = "--------------------\n";
+ _xtotals(heading, underline, 0, 1, 0);
+
+ heading = "\nSlabs sorted by loss\n";
+ underline = "--------------------\n";
+ _xtotals(heading, underline, 1, 0, 0);
+
+ heading = "\nSlabs sorted by number of partial slabs\n";
+ underline = "---------------------------------------\n";
+ _xtotals(heading, underline, 0, 0, 1);
- printf("\nSlabs sorted by loss\n");
- printf("--------------------\n");
- line = 0;
- sort_loss = 1;
- sort_size = 0;
- sort_slabs();
- output_slabs();
printf("\n");
}