aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/security/selinux/include/av_inherit.h
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAmerigo Wang <amwang@redhat.com>2009-08-20 19:29:03 -0700
committerJames Morris <jmorris@namei.org>2009-08-21 14:25:48 +1000
commit939a9421eb53d3ea83188ae13802779041caefdb (patch)
treee782e64e6e3e545a4b7c8ab108b2fcf8d01aa952 /security/selinux/include/av_inherit.h
parentbc6a6008e5e3c7a30191a7f19ab19e85b14b1705 (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-939a9421eb53d3ea83188ae13802779041caefdb.tar.gz
vfs: allow file truncations when both suid and write permissions set
When suid is set and the non-owner user has write permission, any writing into this file should be allowed and suid should be removed after that. However, current kernel only allows writing without truncations, when we do truncations on that file, we get EPERM. This is a bug. Steps to reproduce this bug: % ls -l rootdir/file1 -rwsrwsrwx 1 root root 3 Jun 25 15:42 rootdir/file1 % echo h > rootdir/file1 zsh: operation not permitted: rootdir/file1 % ls -l rootdir/file1 -rwsrwsrwx 1 root root 3 Jun 25 15:42 rootdir/file1 % echo h >> rootdir/file1 % ls -l rootdir/file1 -rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 5 Jun 25 16:34 rootdir/file1 Signed-off-by: WANG Cong <amwang@redhat.com> Cc: Eric Sandeen <esandeen@redhat.com> Acked-by: Eric Paris <eparis@redhat.com> Cc: Eugene Teo <eteo@redhat.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: OGAWA Hirofumi <hirofumi@mail.parknet.co.jp> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Cc: Stephen Smalley <sds@tycho.nsa.gov> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'security/selinux/include/av_inherit.h')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions