aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/lib
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKrzysztof Kozlowski <k.kozlowski@samsung.com>2016-08-03 13:46:00 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2016-08-04 08:50:07 -0400
commit00085f1efa387a8ce100e3734920f7639c80caa3 (patch)
tree41ff3d6e6884918b4fc4f1ae96a284098167c5b0 /lib
parent1605d2715ad2e67ddd0485a26e05ed670a4285ca (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-00085f1efa387a8ce100e3734920f7639c80caa3.tar.gz
dma-mapping: use unsigned long for dma_attrs
The dma-mapping core and the implementations do not change the DMA attributes passed by pointer. Thus the pointer can point to const data. However the attributes do not have to be a bitfield. Instead unsigned long will do fine: 1. This is just simpler. Both in terms of reading the code and setting attributes. Instead of initializing local attributes on the stack and passing pointer to it to dma_set_attr(), just set the bits. 2. It brings safeness and checking for const correctness because the attributes are passed by value. Semantic patches for this change (at least most of them): virtual patch virtual context @r@ identifier f, attrs; @@ f(..., - struct dma_attrs *attrs + unsigned long attrs , ...) { ... } @@ identifier r.f; @@ f(..., - NULL + 0 ) and // Options: --all-includes virtual patch virtual context @r@ identifier f, attrs; type t; @@ t f(..., struct dma_attrs *attrs); @@ identifier r.f; @@ f(..., - NULL + 0 ) Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1468399300-5399-2-git-send-email-k.kozlowski@samsung.com Signed-off-by: Krzysztof Kozlowski <k.kozlowski@samsung.com> Acked-by: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Acked-by: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com> Acked-by: Hans-Christian Noren Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no> Acked-by: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> [c6x] Acked-by: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com> [cris] Acked-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch> [drm] Reviewed-by: Bart Van Assche <bart.vanassche@sandisk.com> Acked-by: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de> [iommu] Acked-by: Fabien Dessenne <fabien.dessenne@st.com> [bdisp] Reviewed-by: Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com> [vb2-core] Acked-by: David Vrabel <david.vrabel@citrix.com> [xen] Acked-by: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com> [xen swiotlb] Acked-by: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de> [iommu] Acked-by: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org> [hexagon] Acked-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> [m68k] Acked-by: Gerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com> [s390] Acked-by: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org> Acked-by: Hans-Christian Noren Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no> [avr32] Acked-by: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> [arc] Acked-by: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com> [arm64 and dma-iommu] Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'lib')
-rw-r--r--lib/dma-noop.c9
-rw-r--r--lib/swiotlb.c13
2 files changed, 12 insertions, 10 deletions
diff --git a/lib/dma-noop.c b/lib/dma-noop.c
index 72145646857e..3d766e78fbe2 100644
--- a/lib/dma-noop.c
+++ b/lib/dma-noop.c
@@ -10,7 +10,7 @@
static void *dma_noop_alloc(struct device *dev, size_t size,
dma_addr_t *dma_handle, gfp_t gfp,
- struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+ unsigned long attrs)
{
void *ret;
@@ -22,7 +22,7 @@ static void *dma_noop_alloc(struct device *dev, size_t size,
static void dma_noop_free(struct device *dev, size_t size,
void *cpu_addr, dma_addr_t dma_addr,
- struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+ unsigned long attrs)
{
free_pages((unsigned long)cpu_addr, get_order(size));
}
@@ -30,13 +30,14 @@ static void dma_noop_free(struct device *dev, size_t size,
static dma_addr_t dma_noop_map_page(struct device *dev, struct page *page,
unsigned long offset, size_t size,
enum dma_data_direction dir,
- struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+ unsigned long attrs)
{
return page_to_phys(page) + offset;
}
static int dma_noop_map_sg(struct device *dev, struct scatterlist *sgl, int nents,
- enum dma_data_direction dir, struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+ enum dma_data_direction dir,
+ unsigned long attrs)
{
int i;
struct scatterlist *sg;
diff --git a/lib/swiotlb.c b/lib/swiotlb.c
index 76f29ecba8f4..22e13a0e19d7 100644
--- a/lib/swiotlb.c
+++ b/lib/swiotlb.c
@@ -738,7 +738,7 @@ swiotlb_full(struct device *dev, size_t size, enum dma_data_direction dir,
dma_addr_t swiotlb_map_page(struct device *dev, struct page *page,
unsigned long offset, size_t size,
enum dma_data_direction dir,
- struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+ unsigned long attrs)
{
phys_addr_t map, phys = page_to_phys(page) + offset;
dma_addr_t dev_addr = phys_to_dma(dev, phys);
@@ -807,7 +807,7 @@ static void unmap_single(struct device *hwdev, dma_addr_t dev_addr,
void swiotlb_unmap_page(struct device *hwdev, dma_addr_t dev_addr,
size_t size, enum dma_data_direction dir,
- struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+ unsigned long attrs)
{
unmap_single(hwdev, dev_addr, size, dir);
}
@@ -877,7 +877,7 @@ EXPORT_SYMBOL(swiotlb_sync_single_for_device);
*/
int
swiotlb_map_sg_attrs(struct device *hwdev, struct scatterlist *sgl, int nelems,
- enum dma_data_direction dir, struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+ enum dma_data_direction dir, unsigned long attrs)
{
struct scatterlist *sg;
int i;
@@ -914,7 +914,7 @@ int
swiotlb_map_sg(struct device *hwdev, struct scatterlist *sgl, int nelems,
enum dma_data_direction dir)
{
- return swiotlb_map_sg_attrs(hwdev, sgl, nelems, dir, NULL);
+ return swiotlb_map_sg_attrs(hwdev, sgl, nelems, dir, 0);
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL(swiotlb_map_sg);
@@ -924,7 +924,8 @@ EXPORT_SYMBOL(swiotlb_map_sg);
*/
void
swiotlb_unmap_sg_attrs(struct device *hwdev, struct scatterlist *sgl,
- int nelems, enum dma_data_direction dir, struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+ int nelems, enum dma_data_direction dir,
+ unsigned long attrs)
{
struct scatterlist *sg;
int i;
@@ -941,7 +942,7 @@ void
swiotlb_unmap_sg(struct device *hwdev, struct scatterlist *sgl, int nelems,
enum dma_data_direction dir)
{
- return swiotlb_unmap_sg_attrs(hwdev, sgl, nelems, dir, NULL);
+ return swiotlb_unmap_sg_attrs(hwdev, sgl, nelems, dir, 0);
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL(swiotlb_unmap_sg);