aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/fs
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorSuren Baghdasaryan <surenb@google.com>2020-10-13 16:58:35 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2020-10-13 18:38:35 -0700
commit67197a4f28d28d0b073ab0427b03cb2ee5382578 (patch)
tree351e4c35d74b6e479b2af9171a7df4b6264105ab /fs
parentcc6de1680538633e4ef9540b2313fa2481a7c641 (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-67197a4f28d28d0b073ab0427b03cb2ee5382578.tar.gz
mm, oom_adj: don't loop through tasks in __set_oom_adj when not necessary
Currently __set_oom_adj loops through all processes in the system to keep oom_score_adj and oom_score_adj_min in sync between processes sharing their mm. This is done for any task with more that one mm_users, which includes processes with multiple threads (sharing mm and signals). However for such processes the loop is unnecessary because their signal structure is shared as well. Android updates oom_score_adj whenever a tasks changes its role (background/foreground/...) or binds to/unbinds from a service, making it more/less important. Such operation can happen frequently. We noticed that updates to oom_score_adj became more expensive and after further investigation found out that the patch mentioned in "Fixes" introduced a regression. Using Pixel 4 with a typical Android workload, write time to oom_score_adj increased from ~3.57us to ~362us. Moreover this regression linearly depends on the number of multi-threaded processes running on the system. Mark the mm with a new MMF_MULTIPROCESS flag bit when task is created with (CLONE_VM && !CLONE_THREAD && !CLONE_VFORK). Change __set_oom_adj to use MMF_MULTIPROCESS instead of mm_users to decide whether oom_score_adj update should be synchronized between multiple processes. To prevent races between clone() and __set_oom_adj(), when oom_score_adj of the process being cloned might be modified from userspace, we use oom_adj_mutex. Its scope is changed to global. The combination of (CLONE_VM && !CLONE_THREAD) is rarely used except for the case of vfork(). To prevent performance regressions of vfork(), we skip taking oom_adj_mutex and setting MMF_MULTIPROCESS when CLONE_VFORK is specified. Clearing the MMF_MULTIPROCESS flag (when the last process sharing the mm exits) is left out of this patch to keep it simple and because it is believed that this threading model is rare. Should there ever be a need for optimizing that case as well, it can be done by hooking into the exit path, likely following the mm_update_next_owner pattern. With the combination of (CLONE_VM && !CLONE_THREAD && !CLONE_VFORK) being quite rare, the regression is gone after the change is applied. [surenb@google.com: v3] Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200902012558.2335613-1-surenb@google.com Fixes: 44a70adec910 ("mm, oom_adj: make sure processes sharing mm have same view of oom_score_adj") Reported-by: Tim Murray <timmurray@google.com> Suggested-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Suren Baghdasaryan <surenb@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Acked-by: Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@ubuntu.com> Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Acked-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Eugene Syromiatnikov <esyr@redhat.com> Cc: Christian Kellner <christian@kellner.me> Cc: Adrian Reber <areber@redhat.com> Cc: Shakeel Butt <shakeelb@google.com> Cc: Aleksa Sarai <cyphar@cyphar.com> Cc: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com> Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com> Cc: Alexey Gladkov <gladkov.alexey@gmail.com> Cc: Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com> Cc: Daniel Jordan <daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com> Cc: Andrei Vagin <avagin@gmail.com> Cc: Bernd Edlinger <bernd.edlinger@hotmail.de> Cc: John Johansen <john.johansen@canonical.com> Cc: Yafang Shao <laoar.shao@gmail.com> Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200824153036.3201505-1-surenb@google.com Debugged-by: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'fs')
-rw-r--r--fs/proc/base.c3
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/fs/proc/base.c b/fs/proc/base.c
index 617db4e0faa0..aa69c35d904c 100644
--- a/fs/proc/base.c
+++ b/fs/proc/base.c
@@ -1055,7 +1055,6 @@ static ssize_t oom_adj_read(struct file *file, char __user *buf, size_t count,
static int __set_oom_adj(struct file *file, int oom_adj, bool legacy)
{
- static DEFINE_MUTEX(oom_adj_mutex);
struct mm_struct *mm = NULL;
struct task_struct *task;
int err = 0;
@@ -1095,7 +1094,7 @@ static int __set_oom_adj(struct file *file, int oom_adj, bool legacy)
struct task_struct *p = find_lock_task_mm(task);
if (p) {
- if (atomic_read(&p->mm->mm_users) > 1) {
+ if (test_bit(MMF_MULTIPROCESS, &p->mm->flags)) {
mm = p->mm;
mmgrab(mm);
}