aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAlexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>2016-09-20 18:48:10 +0300
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2016-09-22 14:56:08 +0200
commit08b90f0655258411a1b41d856331e20e7ec8d55c (patch)
treedae037a0c35cd63216a16f7e75e7149057569115 /arch
parentf1e1c9e5e357c05253affb13be29285c5cb56bf0 (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-08b90f0655258411a1b41d856331e20e7ec8d55c.tar.gz
perf/x86/intel/bts: Make it an exclusive PMU
Just like intel_pt, intel_bts can only handle one event at a time, which is the reason we introduced PERF_PMU_CAP_EXCLUSIVE in the first place. However, at the moment one can have as many intel_bts events within the same context at the same time as one pleases. Only one of them, however, will get scheduled and receive the actual trace data. Fix this by making intel_bts an "exclusive" PMU. Signed-off-by: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@infradead.org> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu> Cc: vince@deater.net Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20160920154811.3255-2-alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/events/intel/bts.c3
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/events/intel/bts.c b/arch/x86/events/intel/bts.c
index 6ff66efa0feb..982c9e31daca 100644
--- a/arch/x86/events/intel/bts.c
+++ b/arch/x86/events/intel/bts.c
@@ -584,7 +584,8 @@ static __init int bts_init(void)
if (!boot_cpu_has(X86_FEATURE_DTES64) || !x86_pmu.bts)
return -ENODEV;
- bts_pmu.capabilities = PERF_PMU_CAP_AUX_NO_SG | PERF_PMU_CAP_ITRACE;
+ bts_pmu.capabilities = PERF_PMU_CAP_AUX_NO_SG | PERF_PMU_CAP_ITRACE |
+ PERF_PMU_CAP_EXCLUSIVE;
bts_pmu.task_ctx_nr = perf_sw_context;
bts_pmu.event_init = bts_event_init;
bts_pmu.add = bts_event_add;