aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDavid Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>2020-04-06 20:07:28 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2020-04-07 10:43:40 -0700
commited7f9fec8c8f8227ebd1fb69feda60ce4a7df61f (patch)
tree57078da7e5b1304e09078a70b7299c73a7bfa711 /arch
parent4dc8207bfd45799525f882e1039e63e9438d605e (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-ed7f9fec8c8f8227ebd1fb69feda60ce4a7df61f.tar.gz
powernv/memtrace: always online added memory blocks
Let's always try to online the re-added memory blocks. In case add_memory() already onlined the added memory blocks, the first device_online() call will fail and stop processing the remaining memory blocks. This avoids manually having to check memhp_auto_online. Note: PPC always onlines all hotplugged memory directly from the kernel as well - something that is handled by user space on other architectures. Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Reviewed-by: Wei Yang <richard.weiyang@gmail.com> Reviewed-by: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com> Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org> Cc: Eduardo Habkost <ehabkost@redhat.com> Cc: Haiyang Zhang <haiyangz@microsoft.com> Cc: Igor Mammedov <imammedo@redhat.com> Cc: "K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@microsoft.com> Cc: Stephen Hemminger <sthemmin@microsoft.com> Cc: Vitaly Kuznetsov <vkuznets@redhat.com> Cc: Wei Liu <wei.liu@kernel.org> Cc: Yumei Huang <yuhuang@redhat.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200317104942.11178-5-david@redhat.com Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch')
-rw-r--r--arch/powerpc/platforms/powernv/memtrace.c14
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 10 deletions
diff --git a/arch/powerpc/platforms/powernv/memtrace.c b/arch/powerpc/platforms/powernv/memtrace.c
index d6d64f8718e6..13b369d2cc45 100644
--- a/arch/powerpc/platforms/powernv/memtrace.c
+++ b/arch/powerpc/platforms/powernv/memtrace.c
@@ -231,16 +231,10 @@ static int memtrace_online(void)
continue;
}
- /*
- * If kernel isn't compiled with the auto online option
- * we need to online the memory ourselves.
- */
- if (!memhp_auto_online) {
- lock_device_hotplug();
- walk_memory_blocks(ent->start, ent->size, NULL,
- online_mem_block);
- unlock_device_hotplug();
- }
+ lock_device_hotplug();
+ walk_memory_blocks(ent->start, ent->size, NULL,
+ online_mem_block);
+ unlock_device_hotplug();
/*
* Memory was added successfully so clean up references to it