aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/x86/mm/pti.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJoerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de>2018-08-08 13:16:40 +0200
committerThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>2018-08-10 21:12:45 +0200
commitd878efce73fe86db34ddb2013260adf571a701a7 (patch)
treef46f51c06940ff7979647052448e6f46d0cd8366 /arch/x86/mm/pti.c
parenta29dba161ad1a01bbfbc80aa184b089ddd169a4e (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-d878efce73fe86db34ddb2013260adf571a701a7.tar.gz
x86/mm/pti: Move user W+X check into pti_finalize()
The user page-table gets the updated kernel mappings in pti_finalize(), which runs after the RO+X permissions got applied to the kernel page-table in mark_readonly(). But with CONFIG_DEBUG_WX enabled, the user page-table is already checked in mark_readonly() for insecure mappings. This causes false-positive warnings, because the user page-table did not get the updated mappings yet. Move the W+X check for the user page-table into pti_finalize() after it updated all required mappings. [ tglx: Folded !NX supported fix ] Signed-off-by: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de> Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: "H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz> Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com> Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com> Cc: David Laight <David.Laight@aculab.com> Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com> Cc: Eduardo Valentin <eduval@amazon.com> Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: aliguori@amazon.com Cc: daniel.gruss@iaik.tugraz.at Cc: hughd@google.com Cc: keescook@google.com Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com> Cc: Waiman Long <llong@redhat.com> Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz> Cc: "David H . Gutteridge" <dhgutteridge@sympatico.ca> Cc: joro@8bytes.org Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/1533727000-9172-1-git-send-email-joro@8bytes.org
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/x86/mm/pti.c')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/mm/pti.c2
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/mm/pti.c b/arch/x86/mm/pti.c
index 1dc5c683e7a5..d58b4aba9510 100644
--- a/arch/x86/mm/pti.c
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/pti.c
@@ -646,4 +646,6 @@ void pti_finalize(void)
*/
pti_clone_entry_text();
pti_clone_kernel_text();
+
+ debug_checkwx_user();
}