aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/x86/mm/pti.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>2017-12-04 15:07:36 +0100
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2017-12-23 21:12:59 +0100
commitaa8c6248f8c75acfd610fe15d8cae23cf70d9d09 (patch)
tree0292dacc01baf9bbd4785d12bf2f6cd791c344eb /arch/x86/mm/pti.c
parent8a09317b895f073977346779df52f67c1056d81d (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-aa8c6248f8c75acfd610fe15d8cae23cf70d9d09.tar.gz
x86/mm/pti: Add infrastructure for page table isolation
Add the initial files for kernel page table isolation, with a minimal init function and the boot time detection for this misfeature. Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Reviewed-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Cc: David Laight <David.Laight@aculab.com> Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com> Cc: Eduardo Valentin <eduval@amazon.com> Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: aliguori@amazon.com Cc: daniel.gruss@iaik.tugraz.at Cc: hughd@google.com Cc: keescook@google.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/x86/mm/pti.c')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/mm/pti.c84
1 files changed, 84 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/mm/pti.c b/arch/x86/mm/pti.c
new file mode 100644
index 000000000000..375f23a758bc
--- /dev/null
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/pti.c
@@ -0,0 +1,84 @@
+/*
+ * Copyright(c) 2017 Intel Corporation. All rights reserved.
+ *
+ * This program is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify
+ * it under the terms of version 2 of the GNU General Public License as
+ * published by the Free Software Foundation.
+ *
+ * This program is distributed in the hope that it will be useful, but
+ * WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of
+ * MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. See the GNU
+ * General Public License for more details.
+ *
+ * This code is based in part on work published here:
+ *
+ * https://github.com/IAIK/KAISER
+ *
+ * The original work was written by and and signed off by for the Linux
+ * kernel by:
+ *
+ * Signed-off-by: Richard Fellner <richard.fellner@student.tugraz.at>
+ * Signed-off-by: Moritz Lipp <moritz.lipp@iaik.tugraz.at>
+ * Signed-off-by: Daniel Gruss <daniel.gruss@iaik.tugraz.at>
+ * Signed-off-by: Michael Schwarz <michael.schwarz@iaik.tugraz.at>
+ *
+ * Major changes to the original code by: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
+ * Mostly rewritten by Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> and
+ * Andy Lutomirsky <luto@amacapital.net>
+ */
+#include <linux/kernel.h>
+#include <linux/errno.h>
+#include <linux/string.h>
+#include <linux/types.h>
+#include <linux/bug.h>
+#include <linux/init.h>
+#include <linux/spinlock.h>
+#include <linux/mm.h>
+#include <linux/uaccess.h>
+
+#include <asm/cpufeature.h>
+#include <asm/hypervisor.h>
+#include <asm/cmdline.h>
+#include <asm/pti.h>
+#include <asm/pgtable.h>
+#include <asm/pgalloc.h>
+#include <asm/tlbflush.h>
+#include <asm/desc.h>
+
+#undef pr_fmt
+#define pr_fmt(fmt) "Kernel/User page tables isolation: " fmt
+
+static void __init pti_print_if_insecure(const char *reason)
+{
+ if (boot_cpu_has_bug(X86_BUG_CPU_INSECURE))
+ pr_info("%s\n", reason);
+}
+
+void __init pti_check_boottime_disable(void)
+{
+ if (hypervisor_is_type(X86_HYPER_XEN_PV)) {
+ pti_print_if_insecure("disabled on XEN PV.");
+ return;
+ }
+
+ if (cmdline_find_option_bool(boot_command_line, "nopti")) {
+ pti_print_if_insecure("disabled on command line.");
+ return;
+ }
+
+ if (!boot_cpu_has_bug(X86_BUG_CPU_INSECURE))
+ return;
+
+ setup_force_cpu_cap(X86_FEATURE_PTI);
+}
+
+/*
+ * Initialize kernel page table isolation
+ */
+void __init pti_init(void)
+{
+ if (!static_cpu_has(X86_FEATURE_PTI))
+ return;
+
+ pr_info("enabled\n");
+}