aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/x86/mm/pti.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>2018-04-20 15:20:23 -0700
committerThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>2018-04-25 11:02:50 +0200
commita44ca8f5a30c008b54d07b00eed4eae7f169fcd0 (patch)
treea40b7e227a235a60a9b26dd42820e4e937f93638 /arch/x86/mm/pti.c
parent58e65b51e6f9b9dd94a25ff2b2772222e0358099 (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-a44ca8f5a30c008b54d07b00eed4eae7f169fcd0.tar.gz
x86/pti: Reduce amount of kernel text allowed to be Global
commit abb67605203687c8b7943d760638d0301787f8d9 Kees reported to me that I made too much of the kernel image global. It was far more than just text: I think this is too much set global: _end is after data, bss, and brk, and all kinds of other stuff that could hold secrets. I think this should match what mark_rodata_ro() is doing. This does exactly that. We use __end_rodata_hpage_align as our marker both because it is huge-page-aligned and it does not contain any sections we expect to hold secrets. Kees's logic was that r/o data is in the kernel image anyway and, in the case of traditional distributions, can be freely downloaded from the web, so there's no reason to hide it. Fixes: 8c06c7740 (x86/pti: Leave kernel text global for !PCID) Reported-by: Kees Cook <keescook@google.com> Signed-off-by: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Acked-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com> Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Nadav Amit <namit@vmware.com> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com> Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180420222023.1C8B2B20@viggo.jf.intel.com
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/x86/mm/pti.c')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/mm/pti.c16
1 files changed, 13 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/mm/pti.c b/arch/x86/mm/pti.c
index f1fd52f449e0..ae3eb4f5d53b 100644
--- a/arch/x86/mm/pti.c
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/pti.c
@@ -430,12 +430,24 @@ static inline bool pti_kernel_image_global_ok(void)
*/
void pti_clone_kernel_text(void)
{
+ /*
+ * rodata is part of the kernel image and is normally
+ * readable on the filesystem or on the web. But, do not
+ * clone the areas past rodata, they might contain secrets.
+ */
unsigned long start = PFN_ALIGN(_text);
- unsigned long end = ALIGN((unsigned long)_end, PMD_PAGE_SIZE);
+ unsigned long end = (unsigned long)__end_rodata_hpage_align;
if (!pti_kernel_image_global_ok())
return;
+ pr_debug("mapping partial kernel image into user address space\n");
+
+ /*
+ * Note that this will undo _some_ of the work that
+ * pti_set_kernel_image_nonglobal() did to clear the
+ * global bit.
+ */
pti_clone_pmds(start, end, _PAGE_RW);
}
@@ -458,8 +470,6 @@ void pti_set_kernel_image_nonglobal(void)
if (pti_kernel_image_global_ok())
return;
- pr_debug("set kernel image non-global\n");
-
set_memory_nonglobal(start, (end - start) >> PAGE_SHIFT);
}