aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/x86/mm/pti.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>2017-12-04 15:07:37 +0100
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2017-12-23 21:12:59 +0100
commit61e9b3671007a5da8127955a1a3bda7e0d5f42e8 (patch)
tree0b6a564606acc7bd8db892efb420c7a91825e4e4 /arch/x86/mm/pti.c
parent41f4c20b57a4890ea7f56ff8717cc83fefb8d537 (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-61e9b3671007a5da8127955a1a3bda7e0d5f42e8.tar.gz
x86/mm/pti: Add mapping helper functions
Add the pagetable helper functions do manage the separate user space page tables. [ tglx: Split out from the big combo kaiser patch. Folded Andys simplification and made it out of line as Boris suggested ] Signed-off-by: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com> Cc: David Laight <David.Laight@aculab.com> Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com> Cc: Eduardo Valentin <eduval@amazon.com> Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: aliguori@amazon.com Cc: daniel.gruss@iaik.tugraz.at Cc: hughd@google.com Cc: keescook@google.com Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/x86/mm/pti.c')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/mm/pti.c41
1 files changed, 41 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/mm/pti.c b/arch/x86/mm/pti.c
index a13f6b109865..69a983365392 100644
--- a/arch/x86/mm/pti.c
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/pti.c
@@ -96,6 +96,47 @@ enable:
setup_force_cpu_cap(X86_FEATURE_PTI);
}
+pgd_t __pti_set_user_pgd(pgd_t *pgdp, pgd_t pgd)
+{
+ /*
+ * Changes to the high (kernel) portion of the kernelmode page
+ * tables are not automatically propagated to the usermode tables.
+ *
+ * Users should keep in mind that, unlike the kernelmode tables,
+ * there is no vmalloc_fault equivalent for the usermode tables.
+ * Top-level entries added to init_mm's usermode pgd after boot
+ * will not be automatically propagated to other mms.
+ */
+ if (!pgdp_maps_userspace(pgdp))
+ return pgd;
+
+ /*
+ * The user page tables get the full PGD, accessible from
+ * userspace:
+ */
+ kernel_to_user_pgdp(pgdp)->pgd = pgd.pgd;
+
+ /*
+ * If this is normal user memory, make it NX in the kernel
+ * pagetables so that, if we somehow screw up and return to
+ * usermode with the kernel CR3 loaded, we'll get a page fault
+ * instead of allowing user code to execute with the wrong CR3.
+ *
+ * As exceptions, we don't set NX if:
+ * - _PAGE_USER is not set. This could be an executable
+ * EFI runtime mapping or something similar, and the kernel
+ * may execute from it
+ * - we don't have NX support
+ * - we're clearing the PGD (i.e. the new pgd is not present).
+ */
+ if ((pgd.pgd & (_PAGE_USER|_PAGE_PRESENT)) == (_PAGE_USER|_PAGE_PRESENT) &&
+ (__supported_pte_mask & _PAGE_NX))
+ pgd.pgd |= _PAGE_NX;
+
+ /* return the copy of the PGD we want the kernel to use: */
+ return pgd;
+}
+
/*
* Initialize kernel page table isolation
*/