aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/x86/mm/pti.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJoerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de>2018-07-18 11:41:05 +0200
committerThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>2018-07-20 01:11:45 +0200
commit1ac228a7c87f697d1d01eb6362a6b5246705b0dd (patch)
treeb883b01197ef55265df29797aca55f31aad18722 /arch/x86/mm/pti.c
parent39d668e04edad25abe184fb329ce35a131146ee5 (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-1ac228a7c87f697d1d01eb6362a6b5246705b0dd.tar.gz
x86/mm/pti: Keep permissions when cloning kernel text in pti_clone_kernel_text()
Mapping the kernel text area to user-space makes only sense if it has the same permissions as in the kernel page-table. If permissions are different this will cause a TLB reload when using the kernel page-table, which is as good as not mapping it at all. On 64-bit kernels this patch makes no difference, as the whole range cloned by pti_clone_kernel_text() is mapped RO anyway. On 32 bit there are writeable mappings in the range, so just keep the permissions as they are. Signed-off-by: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de> Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Tested-by: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz> Cc: "H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz> Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com> Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com> Cc: David Laight <David.Laight@aculab.com> Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com> Cc: Eduardo Valentin <eduval@amazon.com> Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: aliguori@amazon.com Cc: daniel.gruss@iaik.tugraz.at Cc: hughd@google.com Cc: keescook@google.com Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com> Cc: Waiman Long <llong@redhat.com> Cc: "David H . Gutteridge" <dhgutteridge@sympatico.ca> Cc: joro@8bytes.org Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/1531906876-13451-29-git-send-email-joro@8bytes.org
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/x86/mm/pti.c')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/mm/pti.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/mm/pti.c b/arch/x86/mm/pti.c
index 453d23760941..e41ee93c430d 100644
--- a/arch/x86/mm/pti.c
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/pti.c
@@ -482,7 +482,7 @@ void pti_clone_kernel_text(void)
* pti_set_kernel_image_nonglobal() did to clear the
* global bit.
*/
- pti_clone_pmds(start, end, _PAGE_RW);
+ pti_clone_pmds(start, end, 0);
}
/*