aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/Documentation
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMimi Zohar <zohar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>2016-12-19 16:22:57 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2016-12-20 09:48:45 -0800
commitd68a6fe9fccfd00589c61df672b449d66ba3183f (patch)
tree0a651c25b42fc38870cbe80ac434a2c107a5690e /Documentation
parentc7d09367702e2f4faebc6176d24df72dd5066c3e (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-d68a6fe9fccfd00589c61df672b449d66ba3183f.tar.gz
ima: define a canonical binary_runtime_measurements list format
The IMA binary_runtime_measurements list is currently in platform native format. To allow restoring a measurement list carried across kexec with a different endianness than the targeted kernel, this patch defines little-endian as the canonical format. For big endian systems wanting to save/restore the measurement list from a system with a different endianness, a new boot command line parameter named "ima_canonical_fmt" is defined. Considerations: use of the "ima_canonical_fmt" boot command line option will break existing userspace applications on big endian systems expecting the binary_runtime_measurements list to be in platform native format. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1480554346-29071-10-git-send-email-zohar@linux.vnet.ibm.com Signed-off-by: Mimi Zohar <zohar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Acked-by: Dmitry Kasatkin <dmitry.kasatkin@gmail.com> Cc: Thiago Jung Bauermann <bauerman@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com> Cc: Andreas Steffen <andreas.steffen@strongswan.org> Cc: Josh Sklar <sklar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Dave Young <dyoung@redhat.com> Cc: Vivek Goyal <vgoyal@redhat.com> Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Stewart Smith <stewart@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt4
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt b/Documentation/admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt
index be2d6d0a03a4..21e2d8863705 100644
--- a/Documentation/admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt
+++ b/Documentation/admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt
@@ -1441,6 +1441,10 @@
The builtin appraise policy appraises all files
owned by uid=0.
+ ima_canonical_fmt [IMA]
+ Use the canonical format for the binary runtime
+ measurements, instead of host native format.
+
ima_hash= [IMA]
Format: { md5 | sha1 | rmd160 | sha256 | sha384
| sha512 | ... }