aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMatt Fleming <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk>2016-09-19 13:09:09 +0100
committerMatt Fleming <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk>2016-09-20 14:53:04 +0100
commit1297667083d5442aafe3e337b9413bf02b114edb (patch)
tree7a17fb76fe1f076b819ca0ac591bcc30db29b6bd
parente535ec0899d1fe52ec3a84c9bc03457ac67ad6f7 (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-1297667083d5442aafe3e337b9413bf02b114edb.tar.gz
x86/efi: Only map RAM into EFI page tables if in mixed-mode
Waiman reported that booting with CONFIG_EFI_MIXED enabled on his multi-terabyte HP machine results in boot crashes, because the EFI region mapping functions loop forever while trying to map those regions describing RAM. While this patch doesn't fix the underlying hang, there's really no reason to map EFI_CONVENTIONAL_MEMORY regions into the EFI page tables when mixed-mode is not in use at runtime. Reported-by: Waiman Long <waiman.long@hpe.com> Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> CC: Theodore Ts'o <tytso@mit.edu> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Scott J Norton <scott.norton@hpe.com> Cc: Douglas Hatch <doug.hatch@hpe.com> Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> # v4.6+ Signed-off-by: Matt Fleming <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk>
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_64.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_64.c b/arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_64.c
index 677e29e29473..8dd3784eb075 100644
--- a/arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_64.c
+++ b/arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_64.c
@@ -245,7 +245,7 @@ int __init efi_setup_page_tables(unsigned long pa_memmap, unsigned num_pages)
* text and allocate a new stack because we can't rely on the
* stack pointer being < 4GB.
*/
- if (!IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_EFI_MIXED))
+ if (!IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_EFI_MIXED) || efi_is_native())
return 0;
/*