aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNaoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>2015-08-06 15:47:11 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2015-08-07 04:39:42 +0300
commit4491f7126063ef51081f5662bd4fcae31621a333 (patch)
tree0ebbdbf7d1eec49ec3727876524a95e48f317727
parentf4c18e6f7b5bbb5b528b3334115806b0d76f50f9 (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-4491f7126063ef51081f5662bd4fcae31621a333.tar.gz
mm/memory-failure: set PageHWPoison before migrate_pages()
Now page freeing code doesn't consider PageHWPoison as a bad page, so by setting it before completing the page containment, we can prevent the error page from being reused just after successful page migration. I added TTU_IGNORE_HWPOISON for try_to_unmap() to make sure that the page table entry is transformed into migration entry, not to hwpoison entry. Signed-off-by: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Cc: Dean Nelson <dnelson@redhat.com> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--mm/memory-failure.c7
-rw-r--r--mm/migrate.c3
2 files changed, 6 insertions, 4 deletions
diff --git a/mm/memory-failure.c b/mm/memory-failure.c
index cd985530f102..ea5a93659488 100644
--- a/mm/memory-failure.c
+++ b/mm/memory-failure.c
@@ -1659,6 +1659,8 @@ static int __soft_offline_page(struct page *page, int flags)
inc_zone_page_state(page, NR_ISOLATED_ANON +
page_is_file_cache(page));
list_add(&page->lru, &pagelist);
+ if (!TestSetPageHWPoison(page))
+ atomic_long_inc(&num_poisoned_pages);
ret = migrate_pages(&pagelist, new_page, NULL, MPOL_MF_MOVE_ALL,
MIGRATE_SYNC, MR_MEMORY_FAILURE);
if (ret) {
@@ -1673,9 +1675,8 @@ static int __soft_offline_page(struct page *page, int flags)
pfn, ret, page->flags);
if (ret > 0)
ret = -EIO;
- } else {
- if (!TestSetPageHWPoison(page))
- atomic_long_inc(&num_poisoned_pages);
+ if (TestClearPageHWPoison(page))
+ atomic_long_dec(&num_poisoned_pages);
}
} else {
pr_info("soft offline: %#lx: isolation failed: %d, page count %d, type %lx\n",
diff --git a/mm/migrate.c b/mm/migrate.c
index f2415be7d93b..eb4267107d1f 100644
--- a/mm/migrate.c
+++ b/mm/migrate.c
@@ -880,7 +880,8 @@ static int __unmap_and_move(struct page *page, struct page *newpage,
/* Establish migration ptes or remove ptes */
if (page_mapped(page)) {
try_to_unmap(page,
- TTU_MIGRATION|TTU_IGNORE_MLOCK|TTU_IGNORE_ACCESS);
+ TTU_MIGRATION|TTU_IGNORE_MLOCK|TTU_IGNORE_ACCESS|
+ TTU_IGNORE_HWPOISON);
page_was_mapped = 1;
}