aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNadav Amit <namit@vmware.com>2017-08-10 15:24:02 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2017-08-10 15:54:07 -0700
commita9b802500ebbff1544519a2969323b719dac21f0 (patch)
tree2129aa48f1f2512377f9f3eabba505a251bead98
parent0a2c40487f3e4215c6ab46e7f837036badfb542b (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-a9b802500ebbff1544519a2969323b719dac21f0.tar.gz
Revert "mm: numa: defer TLB flush for THP migration as long as possible"
While deferring TLB flushes is a good practice, the reverted patch caused pending TLB flushes to be checked while the page-table lock is not taken. As a result, in architectures with weak memory model (PPC), Linux may miss a memory-barrier, miss the fact TLB flushes are pending, and cause (in theory) a memory corruption. Since the alternative of using smp_mb__after_unlock_lock() was considered a bit open-coded, and the performance impact is expected to be small, the previous patch is reverted. This reverts b0943d61b8fa ("mm: numa: defer TLB flush for THP migration as long as possible"). Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170802000818.4760-4-namit@vmware.com Signed-off-by: Nadav Amit <namit@vmware.com> Suggested-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Acked-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net> Cc: Nadav Amit <nadav.amit@gmail.com> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--mm/huge_memory.c7
-rw-r--r--mm/migrate.c6
2 files changed, 7 insertions, 6 deletions
diff --git a/mm/huge_memory.c b/mm/huge_memory.c
index 86975dec0ba1..216114f6ef0b 100644
--- a/mm/huge_memory.c
+++ b/mm/huge_memory.c
@@ -1496,6 +1496,13 @@ int do_huge_pmd_numa_page(struct vm_fault *vmf, pmd_t pmd)
}
/*
+ * The page_table_lock above provides a memory barrier
+ * with change_protection_range.
+ */
+ if (mm_tlb_flush_pending(vma->vm_mm))
+ flush_tlb_range(vma, haddr, haddr + HPAGE_PMD_SIZE);
+
+ /*
* Migrate the THP to the requested node, returns with page unlocked
* and access rights restored.
*/
diff --git a/mm/migrate.c b/mm/migrate.c
index 627671551873..d68a41da6abb 100644
--- a/mm/migrate.c
+++ b/mm/migrate.c
@@ -1937,12 +1937,6 @@ int migrate_misplaced_transhuge_page(struct mm_struct *mm,
put_page(new_page);
goto out_fail;
}
- /*
- * We are not sure a pending tlb flush here is for a huge page
- * mapping or not. Hence use the tlb range variant
- */
- if (mm_tlb_flush_pending(mm))
- flush_tlb_range(vma, mmun_start, mmun_end);
/* Prepare a page as a migration target */
__SetPageLocked(new_page);