aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorLuis R. Rodriguez <mcgrof@kernel.org>2017-08-10 15:23:44 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2017-08-10 15:54:06 -0700
commit434b06ae23bab4f4111a674f9b64409c87fa8df9 (patch)
tree087d22681b251dd0310b7e7d05ea1e757708831c
parenta4afe8cdec1646c3d258b02d1cfdfb1313b76eb1 (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-434b06ae23bab4f4111a674f9b64409c87fa8df9.tar.gz
test_kmod: fix bug which allows negative values on two config options
Parsing with kstrtol() enables values to be negative, and we failed to check for negative values when parsing with test_dev_config_update_uint_sync() or test_dev_config_update_uint_range(). test_dev_config_update_uint_range() has a minimum check though so an issue is not present there. test_dev_config_update_uint_sync() is only used for the number of threads to use (config_num_threads_store()), and indeed this would fail with an attempt for a large allocation. Although the issue is only present in practice with the first fix both by using kstrtoul() instead of kstrtol(). Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170802211450.27928-4-mcgrof@kernel.org Fixes: 39258f448d71 ("kmod: add test driver to stress test the module loader") Signed-off-by: Luis R. Rodriguez <mcgrof@kernel.org> Reported-by: Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com> Cc: Colin Ian King <colin.king@canonical.com> Cc: David Binderman <dcb314@hotmail.com> Cc: Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com> Cc: Eric W. Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com> Cc: Jessica Yu <jeyu@redhat.com> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.com> Cc: Miroslav Benes <mbenes@suse.cz> Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--lib/test_kmod.c8
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 4 deletions
diff --git a/lib/test_kmod.c b/lib/test_kmod.c
index 90c91541fc16..8fc0a7a19c83 100644
--- a/lib/test_kmod.c
+++ b/lib/test_kmod.c
@@ -880,10 +880,10 @@ static int test_dev_config_update_uint_sync(struct kmod_test_device *test_dev,
int (*test_sync)(struct kmod_test_device *test_dev))
{
int ret;
- long new;
+ unsigned long new;
unsigned int old_val;
- ret = kstrtol(buf, 10, &new);
+ ret = kstrtoul(buf, 10, &new);
if (ret)
return ret;
@@ -918,9 +918,9 @@ static int test_dev_config_update_uint_range(struct kmod_test_device *test_dev,
unsigned int max)
{
int ret;
- long new;
+ unsigned long new;
- ret = kstrtol(buf, 10, &new);
+ ret = kstrtoul(buf, 10, &new);
if (ret)
return ret;