aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMinchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>2017-08-10 15:24:09 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2017-08-10 15:54:07 -0700
commit0a2dd266dd6b7a31503b5bbe63af05961a6b446d (patch)
treea50e167aadefd34de786593d872c2d97dd01590c
parent56236a59556cfd3bae7bffb7e5f438b5ef0af880 (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-0a2dd266dd6b7a31503b5bbe63af05961a6b446d.tar.gz
mm: make tlb_flush_pending global
Currently, tlb_flush_pending is used only for CONFIG_[NUMA_BALANCING| COMPACTION] but upcoming patches to solve subtle TLB flush batching problem will use it regardless of compaction/NUMA so this patch doesn't remove the dependency. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: remove more ifdefs from world's ugliest printk statement] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170802000818.4760-6-namit@vmware.com Signed-off-by: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Nadav Amit <namit@vmware.com> Acked-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: Nadav Amit <nadav.amit@gmail.com> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--include/linux/mm_types.h21
-rw-r--r--mm/debug.c4
2 files changed, 0 insertions, 25 deletions
diff --git a/include/linux/mm_types.h b/include/linux/mm_types.h
index c605f2a3a68e..892a7b0196fd 100644
--- a/include/linux/mm_types.h
+++ b/include/linux/mm_types.h
@@ -487,14 +487,12 @@ struct mm_struct {
/* numa_scan_seq prevents two threads setting pte_numa */
int numa_scan_seq;
#endif
-#if defined(CONFIG_NUMA_BALANCING) || defined(CONFIG_COMPACTION)
/*
* An operation with batched TLB flushing is going on. Anything that
* can move process memory needs to flush the TLB when moving a
* PROT_NONE or PROT_NUMA mapped page.
*/
atomic_t tlb_flush_pending;
-#endif
#ifdef CONFIG_ARCH_WANT_BATCHED_UNMAP_TLB_FLUSH
/* See flush_tlb_batched_pending() */
bool tlb_flush_batched;
@@ -528,7 +526,6 @@ extern void tlb_gather_mmu(struct mmu_gather *tlb, struct mm_struct *mm,
extern void tlb_finish_mmu(struct mmu_gather *tlb,
unsigned long start, unsigned long end);
-#if defined(CONFIG_NUMA_BALANCING) || defined(CONFIG_COMPACTION)
/*
* Memory barriers to keep this state in sync are graciously provided by
* the page table locks, outside of which no page table modifications happen.
@@ -569,24 +566,6 @@ static inline void dec_tlb_flush_pending(struct mm_struct *mm)
smp_mb__before_atomic();
atomic_dec(&mm->tlb_flush_pending);
}
-#else
-static inline bool mm_tlb_flush_pending(struct mm_struct *mm)
-{
- return false;
-}
-
-static inline void init_tlb_flush_pending(struct mm_struct *mm)
-{
-}
-
-static inline void inc_tlb_flush_pending(struct mm_struct *mm)
-{
-}
-
-static inline void dec_tlb_flush_pending(struct mm_struct *mm)
-{
-}
-#endif
struct vm_fault;
diff --git a/mm/debug.c b/mm/debug.c
index d70103bb4731..5715448ab0b5 100644
--- a/mm/debug.c
+++ b/mm/debug.c
@@ -124,9 +124,7 @@ void dump_mm(const struct mm_struct *mm)
#ifdef CONFIG_NUMA_BALANCING
"numa_next_scan %lu numa_scan_offset %lu numa_scan_seq %d\n"
#endif
-#if defined(CONFIG_NUMA_BALANCING) || defined(CONFIG_COMPACTION)
"tlb_flush_pending %d\n"
-#endif
"def_flags: %#lx(%pGv)\n",
mm, mm->mmap, mm->vmacache_seqnum, mm->task_size,
@@ -158,9 +156,7 @@ void dump_mm(const struct mm_struct *mm)
#ifdef CONFIG_NUMA_BALANCING
mm->numa_next_scan, mm->numa_scan_offset, mm->numa_scan_seq,
#endif
-#if defined(CONFIG_NUMA_BALANCING) || defined(CONFIG_COMPACTION)
atomic_read(&mm->tlb_flush_pending),
-#endif
mm->def_flags, &mm->def_flags
);
}