aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNadav Amit <namit@vmware.com>2017-08-10 15:23:59 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2017-08-10 15:54:07 -0700
commit0a2c40487f3e4215c6ab46e7f837036badfb542b (patch)
treefb60a7b9e88fe249543156d05e3eca9ac22cb6de
parent16af97dc5a8975371a83d9e30a64038b48f40a2d (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-0a2c40487f3e4215c6ab46e7f837036badfb542b.tar.gz
mm: migrate: fix barriers around tlb_flush_pending
Reading tlb_flush_pending while the page-table lock is taken does not require a barrier, since the lock/unlock already acts as a barrier. Removing the barrier in mm_tlb_flush_pending() to address this issue. However, migrate_misplaced_transhuge_page() calls mm_tlb_flush_pending() while the page-table lock is already released, which may present a problem on architectures with weak memory model (PPC). To deal with this case, a new parameter is added to mm_tlb_flush_pending() to indicate if it is read without the page-table lock taken, and calling smp_mb__after_unlock_lock() in this case. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170802000818.4760-3-namit@vmware.com Signed-off-by: Nadav Amit <namit@vmware.com> Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net> Cc: Nadav Amit <nadav.amit@gmail.com> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--include/linux/mm_types.h14
1 files changed, 10 insertions, 4 deletions
diff --git a/include/linux/mm_types.h b/include/linux/mm_types.h
index f58f76ee1dfa..0e478ebd2706 100644
--- a/include/linux/mm_types.h
+++ b/include/linux/mm_types.h
@@ -526,12 +526,12 @@ static inline cpumask_t *mm_cpumask(struct mm_struct *mm)
/*
* Memory barriers to keep this state in sync are graciously provided by
* the page table locks, outside of which no page table modifications happen.
- * The barriers below prevent the compiler from re-ordering the instructions
- * around the memory barriers that are already present in the code.
+ * The barriers are used to ensure the order between tlb_flush_pending updates,
+ * which happen while the lock is not taken, and the PTE updates, which happen
+ * while the lock is taken, are serialized.
*/
static inline bool mm_tlb_flush_pending(struct mm_struct *mm)
{
- barrier();
return atomic_read(&mm->tlb_flush_pending) > 0;
}
@@ -554,7 +554,13 @@ static inline void inc_tlb_flush_pending(struct mm_struct *mm)
/* Clearing is done after a TLB flush, which also provides a barrier. */
static inline void dec_tlb_flush_pending(struct mm_struct *mm)
{
- barrier();
+ /*
+ * Guarantee that the tlb_flush_pending does not not leak into the
+ * critical section, since we must order the PTE change and changes to
+ * the pending TLB flush indication. We could have relied on TLB flush
+ * as a memory barrier, but this behavior is not clearly documented.
+ */
+ smp_mb__before_atomic();
atomic_dec(&mm->tlb_flush_pending);
}
#else