aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKuninori Morimoto <kuninori.morimoto.gx@renesas.com>2020-08-14 17:32:04 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2020-08-14 19:56:57 -0700
commitf9e7ff9c6fc758b6f25674a9a4451db30344ce1e (patch)
tree30e9f63f0749e9aa8e5cfe80c8465296dd4c3e1a
parenta8e3943b58ac8321d4817cfa08aadcfa59c2bf3f (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-f9e7ff9c6fc758b6f25674a9a4451db30344ce1e.tar.gz
sh: use generic strncpy()
Current SH will get below warning at strncpy() In file included from ${LINUX}/arch/sh/include/asm/string.h:3, from ${LINUX}/include/linux/string.h:20, from ${LINUX}/include/linux/bitmap.h:9, from ${LINUX}/include/linux/nodemask.h:95, from ${LINUX}/include/linux/mmzone.h:17, from ${LINUX}/include/linux/gfp.h:6, from ${LINUX}/innclude/linux/slab.h:15, from ${LINUX}/linux/drivers/mmc/host/vub300.c:38: ${LINUX}/drivers/mmc/host/vub300.c: In function 'new_system_port_status': ${LINUX}/arch/sh/include/asm/string_32.h:51:42: warning: array subscript\ 80 is above array bounds of 'char[26]' [-Warray-bounds] : "0" (__dest), "1" (__src), "r" (__src+__n) ~~~~~^~~~ In general, strncpy() should behave like below. char dest[10]; char *src = "12345"; strncpy(dest, src, 10); // dest = {'1', '2', '3', '4', '5', '\0','\0','\0','\0','\0'} But, current SH strnpy() has 2 issues. 1st is it will access to out-of-memory (= src + 10). 2nd is it needs big fixup for it, and maintenance __asm__ code is difficult. To solve these issues, this patch simply uses generic strncpy() instead of architecture specific one. Signed-off-by: Kuninori Morimoto <kuninori.morimoto.gx@renesas.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Alan Modra <amodra@gmail.com> Cc: Bin Meng <bin.meng@windriver.com> Cc: Chen Zhou <chenzhou10@huawei.com> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be> Cc: John Paul Adrian Glaubitz <glaubitz@physik.fu-berlin.de> Cc: Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Romain Naour <romain.naour@gmail.com> Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Link: https://marc.info/?l=linux-renesas-soc&m=157664657013309 Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--arch/sh/include/asm/string_32.h26
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 26 deletions
diff --git a/arch/sh/include/asm/string_32.h b/arch/sh/include/asm/string_32.h
index 3558b1d7123e..be3f9a08cbc9 100644
--- a/arch/sh/include/asm/string_32.h
+++ b/arch/sh/include/asm/string_32.h
@@ -28,32 +28,6 @@ static inline char *strcpy(char *__dest, const char *__src)
return __xdest;
}
-#define __HAVE_ARCH_STRNCPY
-static inline char *strncpy(char *__dest, const char *__src, size_t __n)
-{
- register char *__xdest = __dest;
- unsigned long __dummy;
-
- if (__n == 0)
- return __xdest;
-
- __asm__ __volatile__(
- "1:\n"
- "mov.b @%1+, %2\n\t"
- "mov.b %2, @%0\n\t"
- "cmp/eq #0, %2\n\t"
- "bt/s 2f\n\t"
- " cmp/eq %5,%1\n\t"
- "bf/s 1b\n\t"
- " add #1, %0\n"
- "2:"
- : "=r" (__dest), "=r" (__src), "=&z" (__dummy)
- : "0" (__dest), "1" (__src), "r" (__src+__n)
- : "memory", "t");
-
- return __xdest;
-}
-
#define __HAVE_ARCH_STRCMP
static inline int strcmp(const char *__cs, const char *__ct)
{