aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/.mailmap
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorManfred Spraul <manfred@colorfullife.com>2015-08-14 15:35:10 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2015-08-14 15:56:32 -0700
commit3ed1f8a99d70ea1cd1508910eb107d0edcae5009 (patch)
treee969912641af3d1095025d90d55dc33d9af2a10b /.mailmap
parent7f6bf39bbdd1dcccd103ba7dce8496a8e72e7df4 (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-3ed1f8a99d70ea1cd1508910eb107d0edcae5009.tar.gz
ipc/sem.c: update/correct memory barriers
sem_lock() did not properly pair memory barriers: !spin_is_locked() and spin_unlock_wait() are both only control barriers. The code needs an acquire barrier, otherwise the cpu might perform read operations before the lock test. As no primitive exists inside <include/spinlock.h> and since it seems noone wants another primitive, the code creates a local primitive within ipc/sem.c. With regards to -stable: The change of sem_wait_array() is a bugfix, the change to sem_lock() is a nop (just a preprocessor redefinition to improve the readability). The bugfix is necessary for all kernels that use sem_wait_array() (i.e.: starting from 3.10). Signed-off-by: Manfred Spraul <manfred@colorfullife.com> Reported-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Kirill Tkhai <ktkhai@parallels.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net> Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> [3.10+] Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to '.mailmap')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions