aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/testing/selftests/kcmp
AgeCommit message (Collapse)Author
2012-12-17tools/testing/selftests/kcmp/kcmp_test.c: print reason for failure in kcmp_testDave Jones
I was curious why sys_kcmp wasn't working, which led me to the testcase. It turned out I hadn't enabled CHECKPOINT_RESTORE in the kernel I was testing. Add a decoding of errno to the testcase to make that obvious. Signed-off-by: Dave Jones <davej@redhat.com> Acked-by: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2012-12-17kcmp selftests: print fail status instead of cause make errorDave Young
In case kcmp_test exit non zero value it will cause make error. Better way is just print the test failure status. Signed-off-by: Dave Young <dyoung@redhat.com> Reviewed-by: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org> Cc: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2012-12-17kcmp selftests: make run_tests fixDave Young
make run_tests need the target is run_tests instead of run-tests Also gcc output should be kcmp_test. Fix these two issues. Signed-off-by: Dave Young <dyoung@redhat.com> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org> Cc: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2012-05-31syscalls, x86: add __NR_kcmp syscallCyrill Gorcunov
While doing the checkpoint-restore in the user space one need to determine whether various kernel objects (like mm_struct-s of file_struct-s) are shared between tasks and restore this state. The 2nd step can be solved by using appropriate CLONE_ flags and the unshare syscall, while there's currently no ways for solving the 1st one. One of the ways for checking whether two tasks share e.g. mm_struct is to provide some mm_struct ID of a task to its proc file, but showing such info considered to be not that good for security reasons. Thus after some debates we end up in conclusion that using that named 'comparison' syscall might be the best candidate. So here is it -- __NR_kcmp. It takes up to 5 arguments - the pids of the two tasks (which characteristics should be compared), the comparison type and (in case of comparison of files) two file descriptors. Lookups for pids are done in the caller's PID namespace only. At moment only x86 is supported and tested. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix up selftests, warnings] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: include errno.h] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: tweak comment text] Signed-off-by: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org> Acked-by: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com> Cc: Pavel Emelyanov <xemul@parallels.com> Cc: Andrey Vagin <avagin@openvz.org> Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Glauber Costa <glommer@parallels.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Cc: Matt Helsley <matthltc@us.ibm.com> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org> Cc: Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com> Cc: Vasiliy Kulikov <segoon@openwall.com> Cc: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com> Cc: Valdis.Kletnieks@vt.edu Cc: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>