aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/hexagon/kernel/smp.c
AgeCommit message (Collapse)Author
2012-10-18Hexagon: Copyright marking changesRichard Kuo
Code Aurora Forum (CAF) is becoming a part of Linux Foundation Labs. Signed-off-by: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org>
2012-06-05hexagon: SMP: Remove call to ipi_call_lock()/ipi_call_unlock()Yong Zhang
ipi_call_lock/unlock() lock resp. unlock call_function.lock. This lock protects only the call_function data structure itself, but it's completely unrelated to cpu_online_mask. The mask to which the IPIs are sent is calculated before call_function.lock is taken in smp_call_function_many(), so the locking around set_cpu_online() is pointless and can be removed. [ tglx: Massaged changelog ] Signed-off-by: Yong Zhang <yong.zhang0@gmail.com> Cc: ralf@linux-mips.org Cc: sshtylyov@mvista.com Cc: david.daney@cavium.com Cc: nikunj@linux.vnet.ibm.com Cc: paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com Cc: axboe@kernel.dk Cc: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org> Cc: linux-hexagon@vger.kernel.org Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1338275765-3217-2-git-send-email-yong.zhang0@gmail.com Acked-by: Srivatsa S. Bhat <srivatsa.bhat@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
2012-04-26hexagon: Use generic idle thread allocationThomas Gleixner
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Srivatsa S. Bhat <srivatsa.bhat@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Acked-and-tested-by: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20120420124557.581762105@linutronix.de
2012-04-26smp: Add task_struct argument to __cpu_up()Thomas Gleixner
Preparatory patch to make the idle thread allocation for secondary cpus generic. Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Srivatsa S. Bhat <srivatsa.bhat@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org> Cc: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com> Cc: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: James E.J. Bottomley <jejb@parisc-linux.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: x86@kernel.org Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20120420124556.964170564@linutronix.de
2012-04-23hexagon: add missing cpu.h includeRichard Kuo
Signed-off-by: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org>
2012-04-23hexagon/CPU hotplug: Add missing call to notify_cpu_starting()Srivatsa S. Bhat
The scheduler depends on receiving the CPU_STARTING notification, without which we end up into a lot of trouble. So add the missing call to notify_cpu_starting() in the bringup code. Signed-off-by: Srivatsa S. Bhat <srivatsa.bhat@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org>
2012-03-29remove references to cpu_*_map in arch/Rusty Russell
This has been obsolescent for a while; time for the final push. In adjacent context, replaced old cpus_* with cpumask_*. Signed-off-by: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Acked-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> (arch/sparc) Acked-by: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> (arch/tile) Cc: user-mode-linux-devel@lists.sourceforge.net Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org Cc: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org> Cc: linux-hexagon@vger.kernel.org Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: linux-mips@linux-mips.org Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de> Cc: sparclinux@vger.kernel.org
2012-03-28Disintegrate asm/system.h for HexagonDavid Howells
Disintegrate asm/system.h for Hexagon. Not compiled. Signed-off-by: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Acked-by: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org> cc: linux-hexagon@vger.kernel.org
2012-03-12sched: Cleanup cpu_active madnessPeter Zijlstra
Stepan found: CPU0 CPUn _cpu_up() __cpu_up() boostrap() notify_cpu_starting() set_cpu_online() while (!cpu_active()) cpu_relax() <PREEMPT-out> smp_call_function(.wait=1) /* we find cpu_online() is true */ arch_send_call_function_ipi_mask() /* wait-forever-more */ <PREEMPT-in> local_irq_enable() cpu_notify(CPU_ONLINE) sched_cpu_active() set_cpu_active() Now the purpose of cpu_active is mostly with bringing down a cpu, where we mark it !active to avoid the load-balancer from moving tasks to it while we tear down the cpu. This is required because we only update the sched_domain tree after we brought the cpu-down. And this is needed so that some tasks can still run while we bring it down, we just don't want new tasks to appear. On cpu-up however the sched_domain tree doesn't yet include the new cpu, so its invisible to the load-balancer, regardless of the active state. So instead of setting the active state after we boot the new cpu (and consequently having to wait for it before enabling interrupts) set the cpu active before we set it online and avoid the whole mess. Reported-by: Stepan Moskovchenko <stepanm@codeaurora.org> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Acked-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1323965362.18942.71.camel@twins Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
2011-11-01Hexagon: Add SMP supportRichard Kuo
Signed-off-by: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org> Signed-off-by: Linas Vepstas <linas@codeaurora.org> Acked-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Reviewed-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>