aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/power/x86/turbostat
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDeepthi Dharwar <deepthi@linux.vnet.ibm.com>2011-10-28 16:20:42 +0530
committerLen Brown <len.brown@intel.com>2011-11-06 21:13:58 -0500
commit46bcfad7a819bd17ac4e831b04405152d59784ab (patch)
tree20041e788154d103edff2699f88d4a30320e3ee2 /tools/power/x86/turbostat
parent4202735e8ab6ecfb0381631a0d0b58fefe0bd4e2 (diff)
downloadvexpress-lsk-46bcfad7a819bd17ac4e831b04405152d59784ab.tar.gz
cpuidle: Single/Global registration of idle states
This patch makes the cpuidle_states structure global (single copy) instead of per-cpu. The statistics needed on per-cpu basis by the governor are kept per-cpu. This simplifies the cpuidle subsystem as state registration is done by single cpu only. Having single copy of cpuidle_states saves memory. Rare case of asymmetric C-states can be handled within the cpuidle driver and architectures such as POWER do not have asymmetric C-states. Having single/global registration of all the idle states, dynamic C-state transitions on x86 are handled by the boot cpu. Here, the boot cpu would disable all the devices, re-populate the states and later enable all the devices, irrespective of the cpu that would receive the notification first. Reference: https://lkml.org/lkml/2011/4/25/83 Signed-off-by: Deepthi Dharwar <deepthi@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Trinabh Gupta <g.trinabh@gmail.com> Tested-by: Jean Pihet <j-pihet@ti.com> Reviewed-by: Kevin Hilman <khilman@ti.com> Acked-by: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com> Acked-by: Kevin Hilman <khilman@ti.com> Signed-off-by: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/power/x86/turbostat')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions