aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNamhyung Kim <namhyung.kim@lge.com>2012-11-07 10:30:15 +0900
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2012-11-08 17:26:52 -0300
commitff6f7778a66edc033044a6baa2459ce79519e571 (patch)
treef79f9776ffff5d8b67cc6cfa7b0511fd0c48eac8 /tools/perf
parenteef9ba98b9ee96f52e544b09f581c397d8cc8265 (diff)
downloadvexpress-lsk-ff6f7778a66edc033044a6baa2459ce79519e571.tar.gz
perf tools: Don't try to lookup objdump for live mode
Arnaldo reported that annotation during perf top resulted in a segfault. It was because the env->arch was NULL and we don't set it for a live session. In fact, no need to look up objdump in this case since we can use system's default (native) objdump. Reported-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@ghostprotocols.net> Signed-off-by: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Irina Tirdea <irina.tirdea@gmail.com> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1352251815-12615-1-git-send-email-namhyung@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/arch/common.c7
1 files changed, 7 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/arch/common.c b/tools/perf/arch/common.c
index 5683529135b..3e975cb6232 100644
--- a/tools/perf/arch/common.c
+++ b/tools/perf/arch/common.c
@@ -199,6 +199,13 @@ out_error:
int perf_session_env__lookup_objdump(struct perf_session_env *env)
{
+ /*
+ * For live mode, env->arch will be NULL and we can use
+ * the native objdump tool.
+ */
+ if (env->arch == NULL)
+ return 0;
+
return perf_session_env__lookup_binutils_path(env, "objdump",
&objdump_path);
}