aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/ui/setup.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNamhyung Kim <namhyung.kim@lge.com>2013-02-07 18:02:12 +0900
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2013-02-14 14:59:27 -0300
commite3a34029c635b7dee06e51d99441578b96c7d463 (patch)
treebe2aa0793f865217ff93e0051c2d54df1ffb1636 /tools/perf/ui/setup.c
parenteeb49845425375481f14c0e5721f88242642e88e (diff)
downloadvexpress-lsk-e3a34029c635b7dee06e51d99441578b96c7d463.tar.gz
perf annotate: Fix warning message on a missing vmlinux
When perf annotate runs with no vmlinux file it cannot annotate kernel symbols because the kallsyms only provides symbol addresses. So it recommends to run perf buildid-cache to install proper vmlinux image. But running perf buildid-cache -av vmlinux as the message gives me a following error: $ perf buildid-cache -av /home/namhyung/build/kernel/vmlinux Couldn't add v: No such file or directory Since the -a option receives a parameter, 'v' should not be after the option. In addition -a option is not work for this case since the build-id cache already has a kallsyms with same build-id so it'll fail with EEXIST. Use recently added -u (--update) option for it. Signed-off-by: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1360227734-375-6-git-send-email-namhyung@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/ui/setup.c')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions