aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/time/Kconfig
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2013-04-13 17:04:04 +0200
committerFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2013-04-15 20:18:04 +0200
commitfae30dd6698ecaa93cb50213266c224bc550c32c (patch)
tree538a66c806cdea0dcc8a38f6a150f34d967f79e8 /kernel/time/Kconfig
parent5b533f4ff5b6d8f2442f2ac82ca1530ff3f55267 (diff)
downloadvexpress-lsk-fae30dd6698ecaa93cb50213266c224bc550c32c.tar.gz
nohz: Improve a bit the full dynticks Kconfig documentation
Remove the "single task" statement from CONFIG_NO_HZ_FULL title. The constraint can be invalidated when tasks from other sched classes than SCHED_FAIR are running. Moreover it's possible that hrtick join the party in the future. Also add a line about the dependency on SMP. Reported-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org> Cc: Gilad Ben Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com> Cc: Hakan Akkan <hakanakkan@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@linaro.org> Cc: Li Zhong <zhong@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/time/Kconfig')
-rw-r--r--kernel/time/Kconfig8
1 files changed, 5 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/time/Kconfig b/kernel/time/Kconfig
index 3b683227a10..358d601a4fe 100644
--- a/kernel/time/Kconfig
+++ b/kernel/time/Kconfig
@@ -97,11 +97,13 @@ config NO_HZ_IDLE
Most of the time you want to say Y here.
config NO_HZ_FULL
- bool "Full dynticks system (tickless single task)"
+ bool "Full dynticks system (tickless)"
# NO_HZ_COMMON dependency
depends on !ARCH_USES_GETTIMEOFFSET && GENERIC_CLOCKEVENTS
- # RCU_USER_QS
- depends on HAVE_CONTEXT_TRACKING && SMP
+ # We need at least one periodic CPU for timekeeping
+ depends on SMP
+ # RCU_USER_QS dependency
+ depends on HAVE_CONTEXT_TRACKING
# RCU_NOCB_CPU dependency
depends on TREE_RCU || TREE_PREEMPT_RCU
depends on VIRT_CPU_ACCOUNTING_GEN