aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/time/Kconfig
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2013-03-27 01:17:22 +0100
committerFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2013-04-19 13:54:16 +0200
commitf98823ac758ba1aa77c6e3f8ad4ef3ad84ee0a7c (patch)
tree069ceb12d981f33d997afd214c2082a6685a2fd0 /kernel/time/Kconfig
parentd1e43fa5f8bb25f83a86a29f11fcfb57ed4d7566 (diff)
downloadvexpress-lsk-f98823ac758ba1aa77c6e3f8ad4ef3ad84ee0a7c.tar.gz
nohz: New option to default all CPUs in full dynticks range
Provide a new kernel config that defaults all CPUs to be part of the full dynticks range, except the boot one for timekeeping. This default setting is overriden by the nohz_full= boot option if passed by the user. This is helpful for those who don't need a finegrained range of full dynticks CPU and also for automated testing. Suggested-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Reviewed-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org> Cc: Gilad Ben Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com> Cc: Hakan Akkan <hakanakkan@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@linaro.org> Cc: Li Zhong <zhong@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/time/Kconfig')
-rw-r--r--kernel/time/Kconfig10
1 files changed, 10 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/time/Kconfig b/kernel/time/Kconfig
index 358d601a4fe..99c3f13dd47 100644
--- a/kernel/time/Kconfig
+++ b/kernel/time/Kconfig
@@ -128,6 +128,16 @@ config NO_HZ_FULL
endchoice
+config NO_HZ_FULL_ALL
+ bool "Full dynticks system on all CPUs by default"
+ depends on NO_HZ_FULL
+ help
+ If the user doesn't pass the nohz_full boot option to
+ define the range of full dynticks CPUs, consider that all
+ CPUs in the system are full dynticks by default.
+ Note the boot CPU will still be kept outside the range to
+ handle the timekeeping duty.
+
config NO_HZ
bool "Old Idle dynticks config"
depends on !ARCH_USES_GETTIMEOFFSET && GENERIC_CLOCKEVENTS