aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/time/Kconfig
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2013-04-12 16:45:34 +0200
committerFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2013-04-15 19:58:17 +0200
commitc5bfece2d6129131b4ade985e63bc35ddf5868d4 (patch)
tree65b7f1c3e9ad5dd45375ccdc1dab187ba968cf59 /kernel/time/Kconfig
parent0644ca5c774f1a7033bfc83c7ed0660f74f28b56 (diff)
downloadvexpress-lsk-c5bfece2d6129131b4ade985e63bc35ddf5868d4.tar.gz
nohz: Switch from "extended nohz" to "full nohz" based naming
"Extended nohz" was used as a naming base for the full dynticks API and Kconfig symbols. It reflects the fact the system tries to stop the tick in more places than just idle. But that "extended" name is a bit opaque and vague. Rename it to "full" makes it clearer what the system tries to do under this config: try to shutdown the tick anytime it can. The various constraints that prevent that to happen shouldn't be considered as fundamental properties of this feature but rather technical issues that may be solved in the future. Reported-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org> Cc: Gilad Ben Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com> Cc: Hakan Akkan <hakanakkan@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@linaro.org> Cc: Li Zhong <zhong@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/time/Kconfig')
-rw-r--r--kernel/time/Kconfig4
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/time/Kconfig b/kernel/time/Kconfig
index cbe64be17d1..4a17b506946 100644
--- a/kernel/time/Kconfig
+++ b/kernel/time/Kconfig
@@ -96,7 +96,7 @@ config NO_HZ_IDLE
Most of the time you want to say Y here.
-config NO_HZ_EXTENDED
+config NO_HZ_FULL
bool "Full dynticks system (tickless single task)"
# NO_HZ_COMMON dependency
depends on !ARCH_USES_GETTIMEOFFSET && GENERIC_CLOCKEVENTS
@@ -115,7 +115,7 @@ config NO_HZ_EXTENDED
task on the CPU. Chances for running tickless are maximized when
the task mostly runs in userspace and has few kernel activity.
- You need to fill up the nohz_extended boot parameter with the
+ You need to fill up the nohz_full boot parameter with the
desired range of dynticks CPUs.
This is implemented at the expense of some overhead in user <-> kernel