aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/time/Kconfig
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2013-04-18 00:15:40 +0200
committerFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2013-04-18 18:53:34 +0200
commit76c24fb054b52b34af4dcde589cbb9e2b98fc74c (patch)
treebbce968d4f057dce3b028ca5c5b894e68255db02 /kernel/time/Kconfig
parent65d798f0f9339ae2c4ebe9480e3260b33382a584 (diff)
downloadvexpress-lsk-76c24fb054b52b34af4dcde589cbb9e2b98fc74c.tar.gz
nohz: New APIs to re-evaluate the tick on full dynticks CPUs
Provide two new helpers in order to notify the full dynticks CPUs about some internal system changes against which they may reconsider the state of their tick. Some practical examples include: posix cpu timers, perf tick and sched clock tick. For now the notifying handler, implemented through IPIs, is a stub that will be implemented when we get the tick stop/restart infrastructure in. Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org> Cc: Gilad Ben Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com> Cc: Hakan Akkan <hakanakkan@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@linaro.org> Cc: Li Zhong <zhong@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/time/Kconfig')
-rw-r--r--kernel/time/Kconfig1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/time/Kconfig b/kernel/time/Kconfig
index 358d601a4fe..fbb4c7eb92a 100644
--- a/kernel/time/Kconfig
+++ b/kernel/time/Kconfig
@@ -111,6 +111,7 @@ config NO_HZ_FULL
select RCU_USER_QS
select RCU_NOCB_CPU
select CONTEXT_TRACKING_FORCE
+ select IRQ_WORK
help
Adaptively try to shutdown the tick whenever possible, even when
the CPU is running tasks. Typically this requires running a single