aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/time/Kconfig
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2013-04-12 16:40:12 +0200
committerFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2013-04-15 19:39:40 +0200
commit0644ca5c774f1a7033bfc83c7ed0660f74f28b56 (patch)
treeddb1cad5a3d218682f8a03268d9a67949fbeb0f4 /kernel/time/Kconfig
parent1034fc2f41aaf32f782a9362178f9a236ac5a50a (diff)
downloadvexpress-lsk-0644ca5c774f1a7033bfc83c7ed0660f74f28b56.tar.gz
nohz: Fix old dynticks idle Kconfig backward compatibility
In order to enforce backward compatibility with older config files, we want the new dynticks-idle Kconfig entry to default its value to the one of the old CONFIG_NO_HZ symbol if present. Namely we want: config NO_HZ # old obsolete dynticks idle symbol bool config NO_HZ_IDLE # new dynticks idle symbol default NO_HZ However Kconfig prevents this to work if the old symbol is not visible. And this is currently the case because NO_HZ lacks a title in order to show it in make oldconfig and alike. To fix this, bring a minimal title and help text to the obsolete Kconfig entry that explains its purpose. This makes the "defaulting" to work. Reported-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org> Cc: Gilad Ben Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com> Cc: Hakan Akkan <hakanakkan@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@linaro.org> Cc: Li Zhong <zhong@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/time/Kconfig')
-rw-r--r--kernel/time/Kconfig12
1 files changed, 8 insertions, 4 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/time/Kconfig b/kernel/time/Kconfig
index 27cc404ea18..cbe64be17d1 100644
--- a/kernel/time/Kconfig
+++ b/kernel/time/Kconfig
@@ -75,10 +75,6 @@ config NO_HZ_COMMON
depends on !ARCH_USES_GETTIMEOFFSET && GENERIC_CLOCKEVENTS
select TICK_ONESHOT
-# Kept around for compatibility, maps to NO_HZ_IDLE
-config NO_HZ
- bool
-
choice
prompt "Timer tick handling"
default NO_HZ_IDLE if NO_HZ
@@ -130,6 +126,14 @@ config NO_HZ_EXTENDED
endchoice
+config NO_HZ
+ bool "Old Idle dynticks config"
+ depends on !ARCH_USES_GETTIMEOFFSET && GENERIC_CLOCKEVENTS
+ help
+ This is the old config entry that enables dynticks idle.
+ We keep it around for a little while to enforce backward
+ compatibility with older config files.
+
config HIGH_RES_TIMERS
bool "High Resolution Timer Support"
depends on !ARCH_USES_GETTIMEOFFSET && GENERIC_CLOCKEVENTS