aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/include/trace/events
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2013-04-20 17:35:50 +0200
committerFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2013-04-22 23:03:09 +0200
commitcb41a29076e9f95547da46578d5c8804f7b8845d (patch)
treeef6bcfbcd99ddbe366f1de94b6aa75da7c6ea55f /include/trace/events
parent0637e029392386e6996f5d6574aadccee8315efa (diff)
downloadvexpress-lsk-cb41a29076e9f95547da46578d5c8804f7b8845d.tar.gz
nohz: Add basic tracing
It's not obvious to find out why the full dynticks subsystem doesn't always stop the tick: whether this is due to kthreads, posix timers, perf events, etc... These new tracepoints are here to help the user diagnose the failures and test this feature. Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org> Cc: Gilad Ben Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com> Cc: Hakan Akkan <hakanakkan@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@linaro.org> Cc: Li Zhong <zhong@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Diffstat (limited to 'include/trace/events')
-rw-r--r--include/trace/events/timer.h21
1 files changed, 21 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/include/trace/events/timer.h b/include/trace/events/timer.h
index 425bcfe56c6..f5eb53eb658 100644
--- a/include/trace/events/timer.h
+++ b/include/trace/events/timer.h
@@ -323,6 +323,27 @@ TRACE_EVENT(itimer_expire,
(int) __entry->pid, (unsigned long long)__entry->now)
);
+#ifdef CONFIG_NO_HZ_FULL
+TRACE_EVENT(tick_stop,
+
+ TP_PROTO(int success, char *error_msg),
+
+ TP_ARGS(success, error_msg),
+
+ TP_STRUCT__entry(
+ __field( int , success )
+ __string( msg, error_msg )
+ ),
+
+ TP_fast_assign(
+ __entry->success = success;
+ __assign_str(msg, error_msg);
+ ),
+
+ TP_printk("success=%s msg=%s", __entry->success ? "yes" : "no", __get_str(msg))
+);
+#endif
+
#endif /* _TRACE_TIMER_H */
/* This part must be outside protection */