aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/drivers/net/wireless/libertas/wext.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDaniel Mack <daniel@caiaq.de>2009-12-16 05:12:58 +0100
committerJohn W. Linville <linville@tuxdriver.com>2009-12-21 11:32:24 -0500
commit45b241689179a6065384260242637cf21dabfb2d (patch)
tree6a5a89b3a98db2f1876b772e8d078e315e389f0b /drivers/net/wireless/libertas/wext.c
parent77ca7d9e2c099b4484bb10075948b4267f37d9fa (diff)
downloadvexpress-lsk-45b241689179a6065384260242637cf21dabfb2d.tar.gz
Libertas: fix buffer overflow in lbs_get_essid()
The libertas driver copies the SSID buffer back to the wireless core and appends a trailing NULL character for termination. This is a) unnecessary because the buffer is allocated with kzalloc and is hence already NULLed when this function is called, and b) for priv->curbssparams.ssid_len == 32, it writes back one byte too much which causes memory corruptions. Fix this by removing the extra write. Signed-off-by: Daniel Mack <daniel@caiaq.de> Cc: Stephen Hemminger <shemminger@vyatta.com> Cc: Maithili Hinge <maithili@marvell.com> Cc: Kiran Divekar <dkiran@marvell.com> Cc: Michael Hirsch <m.hirsch@raumfeld.com> Cc: netdev@vger.kernel.org Cc: libertas-dev@lists.infradead.org Cc: linux-wireless@lists.infradead.org Cc: stable@kernel.org Acked-by: Holger Schurig <holgerschurig@gmail.com> Acked-by: Dan Williams <dcbw@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: John W. Linville <linville@tuxdriver.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers/net/wireless/libertas/wext.c')
-rw-r--r--drivers/net/wireless/libertas/wext.c2
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/net/wireless/libertas/wext.c b/drivers/net/wireless/libertas/wext.c
index a8eb9e1fcf3..4b1aab593a8 100644
--- a/drivers/net/wireless/libertas/wext.c
+++ b/drivers/net/wireless/libertas/wext.c
@@ -2025,10 +2025,8 @@ static int lbs_get_essid(struct net_device *dev, struct iw_request_info *info,
if (priv->connect_status == LBS_CONNECTED) {
memcpy(extra, priv->curbssparams.ssid,
priv->curbssparams.ssid_len);
- extra[priv->curbssparams.ssid_len] = '\0';
} else {
memset(extra, 0, 32);
- extra[priv->curbssparams.ssid_len] = '\0';
}
/*
* If none, we may want to get the one that was set