aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/Documentation/rapidio/sysfs.txt
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAlexandre Bounine <alexandre.bounine@idt.com>2013-05-24 15:55:07 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2013-05-24 16:22:50 -0700
commit5eeb929390de7d5219483a1ca10cce4a84066099 (patch)
treea0fff27850d77ac020a48d1ee68a3c249ea2fa36 /Documentation/rapidio/sysfs.txt
parentbc8fcfea18249640f2728c46d70999dcb7e4dc49 (diff)
downloadvexpress-lsk-5eeb929390de7d5219483a1ca10cce4a84066099.tar.gz
rapidio: documentation update for enumeration changes
Update RapidIO documentation to reflect changes made to enumeration/discovery build configuration and user space triggering mechanism. Signed-off-by: Alexandre Bounine <alexandre.bounine@idt.com> Cc: Matt Porter <mporter@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Li Yang <leoli@freescale.com> Cc: Kumar Gala <galak@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Andre van Herk <andre.van.herk@Prodrive.nl> Cc: Micha Nelissen <micha.nelissen@Prodrive.nl> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation/rapidio/sysfs.txt')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/rapidio/sysfs.txt17
1 files changed, 17 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/rapidio/sysfs.txt b/Documentation/rapidio/sysfs.txt
index 97f71ce575d..19878179da4 100644
--- a/Documentation/rapidio/sysfs.txt
+++ b/Documentation/rapidio/sysfs.txt
@@ -88,3 +88,20 @@ that exports additional attributes.
IDT_GEN2:
errlog - reads contents of device error log until it is empty.
+
+
+5. RapidIO Bus Attributes
+-------------------------
+
+RapidIO bus subdirectory /sys/bus/rapidio implements the following bus-specific
+attribute:
+
+ scan - allows to trigger enumeration discovery process from user space. This
+ is a write-only attribute. To initiate an enumeration or discovery
+ process on specific mport device, a user needs to write mport_ID (not
+ RapidIO destination ID) into this file. The mport_ID is a sequential
+ number (0 ... RIO_MAX_MPORTS) assigned to the mport device.
+ For example, for a machine with a single RapidIO controller, mport_ID
+ for that controller always will be 0.
+ To initiate RapidIO enumeration/discovery on all available mports
+ a user must write '-1' (or RIO_MPORT_ANY) into this attribute file.