aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNathan Zimmer <nzimmer@sgi.com>2012-07-31 16:46:17 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2012-07-31 18:42:50 -0700
commit09c231cb8bfdc35e7d896850d34440b8553b084f (patch)
treef9a9dcc93c875253e0d879329b1f955b1a08638f
parent6527af5d1bea219d64095a5e30c1b1e0868aae16 (diff)
downloadlinux-09c231cb8bfdc35e7d896850d34440b8553b084f.tar.gz
tmpfs: distribute interleave better across nodes
When tmpfs has the interleave memory policy, it always starts allocating for each file from node 0 at offset 0. When there are many small files, the lower nodes fill up disproportionately. This patch spreads out node usage by starting files at nodes other than 0, by using the inode number to bias the starting node for interleave. Signed-off-by: Nathan Zimmer <nzimmer@sgi.com> Signed-off-by: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com> Cc: Lee Schermerhorn <lee.schermerhorn@hp.com> Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--mm/shmem.c6
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/mm/shmem.c b/mm/shmem.c
index c15b998e5a8..d4e184e2a38 100644
--- a/mm/shmem.c
+++ b/mm/shmem.c
@@ -929,7 +929,8 @@ static struct page *shmem_swapin(swp_entry_t swap, gfp_t gfp,
/* Create a pseudo vma that just contains the policy */
pvma.vm_start = 0;
- pvma.vm_pgoff = index;
+ /* Bias interleave by inode number to distribute better across nodes */
+ pvma.vm_pgoff = index + info->vfs_inode.i_ino;
pvma.vm_ops = NULL;
pvma.vm_policy = spol;
return swapin_readahead(swap, gfp, &pvma, 0);
@@ -942,7 +943,8 @@ static struct page *shmem_alloc_page(gfp_t gfp,
/* Create a pseudo vma that just contains the policy */
pvma.vm_start = 0;
- pvma.vm_pgoff = index;
+ /* Bias interleave by inode number to distribute better across nodes */
+ pvma.vm_pgoff = index + info->vfs_inode.i_ino;
pvma.vm_ops = NULL;
pvma.vm_policy = mpol_shared_policy_lookup(&info->policy, index);