aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/Documentation/admin-guide/mm/memory-hotplug.rst
AgeCommit message (Collapse)Author
2018-10-19memory-hotplug.rst: add some details about locking internalsDavid Hildenbrand
Let's document the magic a bit, especially why device_hotplug_lock is required when adding/removing memory and how it all play together with requests to online/offline memory from user space. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180925091457.28651-7-david@redhat.com Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com> Reviewed-by: Pavel Tatashin <pavel.tatashin@microsoft.com> Reviewed-by: Rashmica Gupta <rashmica.g@gmail.com> Reviewed-by: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Balbir Singh <bsingharora@gmail.com> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Haiyang Zhang <haiyangz@microsoft.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: John Allen <jallen@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> Cc: Kate Stewart <kstewart@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: "K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@microsoft.com> Cc: Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Mathieu Malaterre <malat@debian.org> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Michael Neuling <mikey@neuling.org> Cc: Nathan Fontenot <nfont@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com> Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net> Cc: Stephen Hemminger <sthemmin@microsoft.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: YASUAKI ISHIMATSU <yasu.isimatu@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
2018-10-12docs/admin-guide: memory-hotplug: remove table of contentsMike Rapoport
Remove "manual" table of contents and leave only the ReST tag so that Sphinx will take care of TOC generation. Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
2018-10-07docs/vm: split memory hotplug notifier description to Documentation/core-apiMike Rapoport
The memory hotplug notifier description is about kernel internals rather than admin/user visible API. Place it appropriately. Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
2018-10-07docs: move memory hotplug description into admin-guide/mmMike Rapoport
The memory hotplug description in Documentation/memory-hotplug.txt is already formatted as ReST and can be easily added to admin-guide/mm section. While on it, slightly update formatting to make it consistent with the doc-guide. Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>