aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/mm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNaoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>2017-09-08 16:11:04 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2017-09-08 18:26:45 -0700
commitab6e3d0939bb332d72444a532f0f72e0dfde7b7b (patch)
treed2a292622ba757f4ac262840415d1a614acd8283 /mm
parent84c3fc4e9c563d8fb91cfdf5948da48fe1af34d3 (diff)
download96b-common-ab6e3d0939bb332d72444a532f0f72e0dfde7b7b.tar.gz
mm: soft-dirty: keep soft-dirty bits over thp migration
Soft dirty bit is designed to keep tracked over page migration. This patch makes it work in the same manner for thp migration too. Signed-off-by: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com> Signed-off-by: Zi Yan <zi.yan@cs.rutgers.edu> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Anshuman Khandual <khandual@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com> Cc: David Nellans <dnellans@nvidia.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm')
-rw-r--r--mm/huge_memory.c27
1 files changed, 24 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/mm/huge_memory.c b/mm/huge_memory.c
index b82585eabe85..269b5df58543 100644
--- a/mm/huge_memory.c
+++ b/mm/huge_memory.c
@@ -937,6 +937,8 @@ int copy_huge_pmd(struct mm_struct *dst_mm, struct mm_struct *src_mm,
if (is_write_migration_entry(entry)) {
make_migration_entry_read(&entry);
pmd = swp_entry_to_pmd(entry);
+ if (pmd_swp_soft_dirty(*src_pmd))
+ pmd = pmd_swp_mksoft_dirty(pmd);
set_pmd_at(src_mm, addr, src_pmd, pmd);
}
set_pmd_at(dst_mm, addr, dst_pmd, pmd);
@@ -1756,6 +1758,17 @@ static inline int pmd_move_must_withdraw(spinlock_t *new_pmd_ptl,
}
#endif
+static pmd_t move_soft_dirty_pmd(pmd_t pmd)
+{
+#ifdef CONFIG_MEM_SOFT_DIRTY
+ if (unlikely(is_pmd_migration_entry(pmd)))
+ pmd = pmd_swp_mksoft_dirty(pmd);
+ else if (pmd_present(pmd))
+ pmd = pmd_mksoft_dirty(pmd);
+#endif
+ return pmd;
+}
+
bool move_huge_pmd(struct vm_area_struct *vma, unsigned long old_addr,
unsigned long new_addr, unsigned long old_end,
pmd_t *old_pmd, pmd_t *new_pmd, bool *need_flush)
@@ -1798,7 +1811,8 @@ bool move_huge_pmd(struct vm_area_struct *vma, unsigned long old_addr,
pgtable = pgtable_trans_huge_withdraw(mm, old_pmd);
pgtable_trans_huge_deposit(mm, new_pmd, pgtable);
}
- set_pmd_at(mm, new_addr, new_pmd, pmd_mksoft_dirty(pmd));
+ pmd = move_soft_dirty_pmd(pmd);
+ set_pmd_at(mm, new_addr, new_pmd, pmd);
if (new_ptl != old_ptl)
spin_unlock(new_ptl);
if (force_flush)
@@ -1846,6 +1860,8 @@ int change_huge_pmd(struct vm_area_struct *vma, pmd_t *pmd,
*/
make_migration_entry_read(&entry);
newpmd = swp_entry_to_pmd(entry);
+ if (pmd_swp_soft_dirty(*pmd))
+ newpmd = pmd_swp_mksoft_dirty(newpmd);
set_pmd_at(mm, addr, pmd, newpmd);
}
goto unlock;
@@ -2824,6 +2840,7 @@ void set_pmd_migration_entry(struct page_vma_mapped_walk *pvmw,
unsigned long address = pvmw->address;
pmd_t pmdval;
swp_entry_t entry;
+ pmd_t pmdswp;
if (!(pvmw->pmd && !pvmw->pte))
return;
@@ -2837,8 +2854,10 @@ void set_pmd_migration_entry(struct page_vma_mapped_walk *pvmw,
if (pmd_dirty(pmdval))
set_page_dirty(page);
entry = make_migration_entry(page, pmd_write(pmdval));
- pmdval = swp_entry_to_pmd(entry);
- set_pmd_at(mm, address, pvmw->pmd, pmdval);
+ pmdswp = swp_entry_to_pmd(entry);
+ if (pmd_soft_dirty(pmdval))
+ pmdswp = pmd_swp_mksoft_dirty(pmdswp);
+ set_pmd_at(mm, address, pvmw->pmd, pmdswp);
page_remove_rmap(page, true);
put_page(page);
@@ -2861,6 +2880,8 @@ void remove_migration_pmd(struct page_vma_mapped_walk *pvmw, struct page *new)
entry = pmd_to_swp_entry(*pvmw->pmd);
get_page(new);
pmde = pmd_mkold(mk_huge_pmd(new, vma->vm_page_prot));
+ if (pmd_swp_soft_dirty(*pvmw->pmd))
+ pmde = pmd_mksoft_dirty(pmde);
if (is_write_migration_entry(entry))
pmde = maybe_pmd_mkwrite(pmde, vma);