aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/ipc
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorElena Reshetova <elena.reshetova@intel.com>2017-09-08 16:17:45 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2017-09-08 18:26:51 -0700
commit9405c03ee778cd3e353e55fff6e16dfdd9609c02 (patch)
tree197d334b72ecc283c04b3fd80fbf2d5021acc249 /ipc
parentf74370b86ec1e0ee8a56ba838efe78e21d8dba23 (diff)
download96b-common-9405c03ee778cd3e353e55fff6e16dfdd9609c02.tar.gz
ipc: convert kern_ipc_perm.refcount from atomic_t to refcount_t
refcount_t type and corresponding API should be used instead of atomic_t when the variable is used as a reference counter. This allows to avoid accidental refcounter overflows that might lead to use-after-free situations. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1499417992-3238-4-git-send-email-elena.reshetova@intel.com Signed-off-by: Elena Reshetova <elena.reshetova@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Hans Liljestrand <ishkamiel@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Signed-off-by: David Windsor <dwindsor@gmail.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com> Cc: Serge Hallyn <serge@hallyn.com> Cc: <arozansk@redhat.com> Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net> Cc: Manfred Spraul <manfred@colorfullife.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'ipc')
-rw-r--r--ipc/util.c6
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/ipc/util.c b/ipc/util.c
index 1a2cb02467ab..069bb22c9f64 100644
--- a/ipc/util.c
+++ b/ipc/util.c
@@ -232,7 +232,7 @@ int ipc_addid(struct ipc_ids *ids, struct kern_ipc_perm *new, int size)
idr_preload(GFP_KERNEL);
- atomic_set(&new->refcount, 1);
+ refcount_set(&new->refcount, 1);
spin_lock_init(&new->lock);
new->deleted = false;
rcu_read_lock();
@@ -397,13 +397,13 @@ void ipc_rmid(struct ipc_ids *ids, struct kern_ipc_perm *ipcp)
int ipc_rcu_getref(struct kern_ipc_perm *ptr)
{
- return atomic_inc_not_zero(&ptr->refcount);
+ return refcount_inc_not_zero(&ptr->refcount);
}
void ipc_rcu_putref(struct kern_ipc_perm *ptr,
void (*func)(struct rcu_head *head))
{
- if (!atomic_dec_and_test(&ptr->refcount))
+ if (!refcount_dec_and_test(&ptr->refcount))
return;
call_rcu(&ptr->rcu, func);