aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/x86/kernel/setup_percpu.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorThomas Garnier <thgarnie@google.com>2016-08-09 10:11:05 -0700
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2016-08-10 14:45:19 +0200
commitfb754f958f8e46202c1efd7f66d5b3db1208117d (patch)
treed3464916feec6cc38eeecaf50008f302658db00b /arch/x86/kernel/setup_percpu.c
parentc7d2361f7524f365c1ae42f47880e3fa9efb2c2a (diff)
download96b-common-fb754f958f8e46202c1efd7f66d5b3db1208117d.tar.gz
x86/mm/KASLR: Increase BRK pages for KASLR memory randomization
Default implementation expects 6 pages maximum are needed for low page allocations. If KASLR memory randomization is enabled, the worse case of e820 layout would require 12 pages (no large pages). It is due to the PUD level randomization and the variable e820 memory layout. This bug was found while doing extensive testing of KASLR memory randomization on different type of hardware. Signed-off-by: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@google.com> Cc: Aleksey Makarov <aleksey.makarov@linaro.org> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de> Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com> Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Cc: Dave Young <dyoung@redhat.com> Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com> Cc: Fabian Frederick <fabf@skynet.be> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Lv Zheng <lv.zheng@intel.com> Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Rafael J . Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Toshi Kani <toshi.kani@hp.com> Cc: kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com Fixes: 021182e52fe0 ("Enable KASLR for physical mapping memory regions") Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1470762665-88032-2-git-send-email-thgarnie@google.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/x86/kernel/setup_percpu.c')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions