aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/x86/kernel/setup_percpu.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorLee Schermerhorn <lee.schermerhorn@hp.com>2010-05-26 14:44:56 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2010-05-27 09:12:57 -0700
commit7281201922a0063fa60804ce39c277fc98142a47 (patch)
tree4bf089d077b1055e54bc1411dcc0db121d01d9fa /arch/x86/kernel/setup_percpu.c
parent866707fc2721df8fee637fcf0239628b9231f9ea (diff)
download96b-common-7281201922a0063fa60804ce39c277fc98142a47.tar.gz
numa: add generic percpu var numa_node_id() implementation
Rework the generic version of the numa_node_id() function to use the new generic percpu variable infrastructure. Guard the new implementation with a new config option: CONFIG_USE_PERCPU_NUMA_NODE_ID. Archs which support this new implemention will default this option to 'y' when NUMA is configured. This config option could be removed if/when all archs switch over to the generic percpu implementation of numa_node_id(). Arch support involves: 1) converting any existing per cpu variable implementations to use this implementation. x86_64 is an instance of such an arch. 2) archs that don't use a per cpu variable for numa_node_id() will need to initialize the new per cpu variable "numa_node" as cpus are brought on-line. ia64 is an example. 3) Defining USE_PERCPU_NUMA_NODE_ID in arch dependent Kconfig--e.g., when NUMA is configured. This is required because I have retained the old implementation by default to allow archs to be modified incrementally, as desired. Subsequent patches will convert x86_64 and ia64 to use this implemenation. Signed-off-by: Lee Schermerhorn <lee.schermerhorn@hp.com> Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie> Reviewed-by: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Eric Whitney <eric.whitney@hp.com> Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi> Cc: <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/x86/kernel/setup_percpu.c')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions