aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/LICENSES/other
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDavid Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>2018-10-11 07:58:17 +0300
committerJonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>2018-10-12 11:14:19 -0600
commit3a7452c5a72bd8098f6d4b37341e25a8725d790b (patch)
tree63083f500b1cc0f7967a3f19425bb248bdcc53de /LICENSES/other
parent52d7e21fd5677829353f7490723adf5f61999d84 (diff)
download96b-common-3a7452c5a72bd8098f6d4b37341e25a8725d790b.tar.gz
docs/core-api: memory-hotplug: add some details about locking internals
Let's document the magic a bit, especially why device_hotplug_lock is required when adding/removing memory and how it all play together with requests to online/offline memory from user space. [ rppt: moved the text to Documentation/core-api/memory-hotplug.rst ] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180925091457.28651-7-david@redhat.com Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com> Reviewed-by: Pavel Tatashin <pavel.tatashin@microsoft.com> Reviewed-by: Rashmica Gupta <rashmica.g@gmail.com> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Balbir Singh <bsingharora@gmail.com> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Haiyang Zhang <haiyangz@microsoft.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: John Allen <jallen@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> Cc: Kate Stewart <kstewart@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: "K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@microsoft.com> Cc: Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Mathieu Malaterre <malat@debian.org> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Michael Neuling <mikey@neuling.org> Cc: Nathan Fontenot <nfont@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com> Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net> Cc: Stephen Hemminger <sthemmin@microsoft.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: YASUAKI ISHIMATSU <yasu.isimatu@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Diffstat (limited to 'LICENSES/other')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions