aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJosh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>2016-08-18 10:59:07 -0500
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2016-08-18 18:41:32 +0200
commit8b927d734122f3021c5999aaeffaa2a36ab224c2 (patch)
treed5599086d4a9b0c06dfce446f5f67e87eb04a0c4
parent72b4f6a5e903b071f2a7c4eb1418cbe4eefdc344 (diff)
download96b-common-8b927d734122f3021c5999aaeffaa2a36ab224c2.tar.gz
proc: Fix return address printk conversion specifer in /proc/<pid>/stack
When printing call return addresses found on a stack, /proc/<pid>/stack can sometimes give a confusing result. If the call instruction was the last instruction in the function (which can happen when calling a noreturn function), '%pS' will incorrectly display the name of the function which happens to be next in the object code, rather than the name of the actual calling function. Use '%pB' instead, which was created for this exact purpose. Signed-off-by: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com> Cc: Byungchul Park <byungchul.park@lge.com> Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Nilay Vaish <nilayvaish@gmail.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/47ad2821e5ebdbed1fbf83fb85424ae4fbdf8b6e.1471535549.git.jpoimboe@redhat.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
-rw-r--r--fs/proc/base.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/fs/proc/base.c b/fs/proc/base.c
index 54e270262979..e9ff186c723f 100644
--- a/fs/proc/base.c
+++ b/fs/proc/base.c
@@ -483,7 +483,7 @@ static int proc_pid_stack(struct seq_file *m, struct pid_namespace *ns,
save_stack_trace_tsk(task, &trace);
for (i = 0; i < trace.nr_entries; i++) {
- seq_printf(m, "[<%pK>] %pS\n",
+ seq_printf(m, "[<%pK>] %pB\n",
(void *)entries[i], (void *)entries[i]);
}
unlock_trace(task);