aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2018-08-01 09:57:50 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2018-08-01 09:57:50 -0700
commitebad825cdd4e6b327eaf0dd72439408957049cea (patch)
tree1968af65b9f31924d271db19ade63809fed105ec
parent37b71411b75c6a6c918e3102097417fdfed667b8 (diff)
download96b-common-ebad825cdd4e6b327eaf0dd72439408957049cea.tar.gz
ia64: mark special ia64 memory areas anonymous
Commit bfd40eaff5ab ("mm: fix vma_is_anonymous() false-positives") made newly allocated vma's have a dummy vm_ops field so that they wouldn't be mistaken for anonymous mappings, and if you wanted an anonymous vma you had to explicitly say so by calling "vma_set_anonymous()" on it. However, it missed the two special vmas that ia64 processes have: the register backing store and the NaT page. So they wouldn't actually act like anonymous ranges, and page faults on them caused a SIGBUS rather than the creation of a new anon page in them. That obviously will make any ia64 binary very unhappy indeed, and the boot fails early. Fixes: bfd40eaff5ab ("mm: fix vma_is_anonymous() false-positives") Reported-by: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Kirill Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com> Cc: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--arch/ia64/mm/init.c2
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/ia64/mm/init.c b/arch/ia64/mm/init.c
index e6c6dfd98de2..3b85c3ecac38 100644
--- a/arch/ia64/mm/init.c
+++ b/arch/ia64/mm/init.c
@@ -116,6 +116,7 @@ ia64_init_addr_space (void)
*/
vma = vm_area_alloc(current->mm);
if (vma) {
+ vma_set_anonymous(vma);
vma->vm_start = current->thread.rbs_bot & PAGE_MASK;
vma->vm_end = vma->vm_start + PAGE_SIZE;
vma->vm_flags = VM_DATA_DEFAULT_FLAGS|VM_GROWSUP|VM_ACCOUNT;
@@ -133,6 +134,7 @@ ia64_init_addr_space (void)
if (!(current->personality & MMAP_PAGE_ZERO)) {
vma = vm_area_alloc(current->mm);
if (vma) {
+ vma_set_anonymous(vma);
vma->vm_end = PAGE_SIZE;
vma->vm_page_prot = __pgprot(pgprot_val(PAGE_READONLY) | _PAGE_MA_NAT);
vma->vm_flags = VM_READ | VM_MAYREAD | VM_IO |