aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/parisc/include/asm/fcntl.h
AgeCommit message (Collapse)Author
2012-10-16UAPI: (Scripted) Disintegrate arch/parisc/include/asmDavid Howells
Signed-off-by: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Acked-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Acked-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Acked-by: Michael Kerrisk <mtk.manpages@gmail.com> Acked-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Acked-by: Dave Jones <davej@redhat.com>
2011-03-16vfs: add nonconflicting values for O_PATHStephen Rothwell
[AV: on architectures where default conflicts with existing flags, that is] Signed-off-by: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au> Signed-off-by: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
2009-12-10vfs: Implement proper O_SYNC semanticsChristoph Hellwig
While Linux provided an O_SYNC flag basically since day 1, it took until Linux 2.4.0-test12pre2 to actually get it implemented for filesystems, since that day we had generic_osync_around with only minor changes and the great "For now, when the user asks for O_SYNC, we'll actually give O_DSYNC" comment. This patch intends to actually give us real O_SYNC semantics in addition to the O_DSYNC semantics. After Jan's O_SYNC patches which are required before this patch it's actually surprisingly simple, we just need to figure out when to set the datasync flag to vfs_fsync_range and when not. This patch renames the existing O_SYNC flag to O_DSYNC while keeping it's numerical value to keep binary compatibility, and adds a new real O_SYNC flag. To guarantee backwards compatiblity it is defined as expanding to both the O_DSYNC and the new additional binary flag (__O_SYNC) to make sure we are backwards-compatible when compiled against the new headers. This also means that all places that don't care about the differences can just check O_DSYNC and get the right behaviour for O_SYNC, too - only places that actuall care need to check __O_SYNC in addition. Drivers and network filesystems have been updated in a fail safe way to always do the full sync magic if O_DSYNC is set. The few places setting O_SYNC for lower layers are kept that way for now to stay failsafe. We enforce that O_DSYNC is set when __O_SYNC is set early in the open path to make sure we always get these sane options. Note that parisc really screwed up their headers as they already define a O_DSYNC that has always been a no-op. We try to repair it by using it for the new O_DSYNC and redefinining O_SYNC to send both the traditional O_SYNC numerical value _and_ the O_DSYNC one. Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: Grant Grundler <grundler@parisc-linux.org> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Andreas Dilger <adilger@sun.com> Acked-by: Trond Myklebust <Trond.Myklebust@netapp.com> Acked-by: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Acked-by: Ulrich Drepper <drepper@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
2009-11-17fcntl: Use consistent values for F_[GS]ETOWN_EXStephen Rothwell
These values were only introduced during this release cycle, so it is still early enough to get them right. alpha uses the same values that are in asm-generic/fcntl.h, so just remove them. parisc uses the values interchanged for no apparent reason, so remove them to give us consistency across all architectures. Signed-off-by: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2009-09-24fcntl: add F_[SG]ETOWN_EXPeter Zijlstra
In order to direct the SIGIO signal to a particular thread of a multi-threaded application we cannot, like suggested by the manpage, put a TID into the regular fcntl(F_SETOWN) call. It will still be send to the whole process of which that thread is part. Since people do want to properly direct SIGIO we introduce F_SETOWN_EX. The need to direct SIGIO comes from self-monitoring profiling such as with perf-counters. Perf-counters uses SIGIO to notify that new sample data is available. If the signal is delivered to the same task that generated the new sample it can augment that data by inspecting the task's user-space state right after it returns from the kernel. This is esp. convenient for interpreted or virtual machine driven environments. Both F_SETOWN_EX and F_GETOWN_EX take a pointer to a struct f_owner_ex as argument: struct f_owner_ex { int type; pid_t pid; }; Where type is one of F_OWNER_TID, F_OWNER_PID or F_OWNER_GID. Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Reviewed-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Tested-by: stephane eranian <eranian@googlemail.com> Cc: Michael Kerrisk <mtk.manpages@googlemail.com> Cc: Roland McGrath <roland@redhat.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2008-10-10parisc: move include/asm-parisc to arch/parisc/include/asmKyle McMartin