aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDmitry Safonov <dima@arista.com>2020-06-08 21:29:56 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2020-06-09 09:39:10 -0700
commit2062a4e8ae9f486847652927aaf88e21ab8d195d (patch)
tree683fc6100b171f5a7042cfb88924c3d9fbdbd782 /arch
parentabfbb29297c27e3f101f348dc9e467b0fe70f919 (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-2062a4e8ae9f486847652927aaf88e21ab8d195d.tar.gz
kallsyms/printk: add loglvl to print_ip_sym()
Patch series "Add log level to show_stack()", v3. Add log level argument to show_stack(). Done in three stages: 1. Introducing show_stack_loglvl() for every architecture 2. Migrating old users with an explicit log level 3. Renaming show_stack_loglvl() into show_stack() Justification: - It's a design mistake to move a business-logic decision into platform realization detail. - I have currently two patches sets that would benefit from this work: Removing console_loglevel jumps in sysrq driver [1] Hung task warning before panic [2] - suggested by Tetsuo (but he probably didn't realise what it would involve). - While doing (1), (2) the backtraces were adjusted to headers and other messages for each situation - so there won't be a situation when the backtrace is printed, but the headers are missing because they have lesser log level (or the reverse). - As the result in (2) plays with console_loglevel for kdb are removed. The least important for upstream, but maybe still worth to note that every company I've worked in so far had an off-list patch to print backtrace with the needed log level (but only for the architecture they cared about). If you have other ideas how you will benefit from show_stack() with a log level - please, reply to this cover letter. See also discussion on v1: https://lore.kernel.org/linux-riscv/20191106083538.z5nlpuf64cigxigh@pathway.suse.cz/ This patch (of 50): print_ip_sym() needs to have a log level parameter to comply with other parts being printed. Otherwise, half of the expected backtrace would be printed and other may be missing with some logging level. The following callee(s) are using now the adjusted log level: - microblaze/unwind: the same level as headers & userspace unwind. Note that pr_debug()'s there are for debugging the unwinder itself. - nds32/traps: symbol addresses are printed with the same log level as backtrace headers. - lockdep: ip for locking issues is printed with the same log level as other part of the warning. - sched: ip where preemption was disabled is printed as error like the rest part of the message. - ftrace: bug reports are now consistent in the log level being used. Signed-off-by: Dmitry Safonov <dima@arista.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Acked-by: Steven Rostedt (VMware) <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu> Cc: Ben Segall <bsegall@google.com> Cc: Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com> Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org> Cc: Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@dabbelt.com> Cc: Paul Burton <paulburton@kernel.org> Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vincent Chen <deanbo422@gmail.com> Cc: Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org> Cc: Dmitry Safonov <0x7f454c46@gmail.com> Cc: Dmitry Safonov <dima@arista.com> Cc: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.com> Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com> Cc: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Aurelien Jacquiot <jacquiot.aurelien@gmail.com> Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Cc: Brian Cain <bcain@codeaurora.org> Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Ley Foon Tan <lftan@altera.com> Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se> Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com> Cc: Stefan Kristiansson <stefan.kristiansson@saunalahti.fi> Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de> Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Anton Ivanov <anton.ivanov@cambridgegreys.com> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> Cc: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com> Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com> Cc: Daniel Thompson <daniel.thompson@linaro.org> Cc: Douglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org> Cc: Jason Wessel <jason.wessel@windriver.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200418201944.482088-2-dima@arista.com Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch')
-rw-r--r--arch/microblaze/kernel/unwind.c2
-rw-r--r--arch/mips/kernel/traps.c4
-rw-r--r--arch/nds32/kernel/traps.c4
-rw-r--r--arch/riscv/kernel/stacktrace.c2
4 files changed, 6 insertions, 6 deletions
diff --git a/arch/microblaze/kernel/unwind.c b/arch/microblaze/kernel/unwind.c
index 34c270cb11fc..4241cdd28ee7 100644
--- a/arch/microblaze/kernel/unwind.c
+++ b/arch/microblaze/kernel/unwind.c
@@ -254,7 +254,7 @@ static void microblaze_unwind_inner(struct task_struct *task,
task->comm);
break;
} else
- print_ip_sym(pc);
+ print_ip_sym(KERN_INFO, pc);
}
/* Stop when we reach anything not part of the kernel */
diff --git a/arch/mips/kernel/traps.c b/arch/mips/kernel/traps.c
index 22f805a73921..210fea63de75 100644
--- a/arch/mips/kernel/traps.c
+++ b/arch/mips/kernel/traps.c
@@ -125,7 +125,7 @@ static void show_raw_backtrace(unsigned long reg29)
break;
}
if (__kernel_text_address(addr))
- print_ip_sym(addr);
+ print_ip_sym(KERN_DEFAULT, addr);
}
printk("\n");
}
@@ -155,7 +155,7 @@ static void show_backtrace(struct task_struct *task, const struct pt_regs *regs)
}
printk("Call Trace:\n");
do {
- print_ip_sym(pc);
+ print_ip_sym(KERN_DEFAULT, pc);
pc = unwind_stack(task, &sp, pc, &ra);
} while (pc);
pr_cont("\n");
diff --git a/arch/nds32/kernel/traps.c b/arch/nds32/kernel/traps.c
index f4d386b52622..40625760a125 100644
--- a/arch/nds32/kernel/traps.c
+++ b/arch/nds32/kernel/traps.c
@@ -108,7 +108,7 @@ static void __dump(struct task_struct *tsk, unsigned long *base_reg)
if (__kernel_text_address(ret_addr)) {
ret_addr = ftrace_graph_ret_addr(
tsk, &graph, ret_addr, NULL);
- print_ip_sym(ret_addr);
+ print_ip_sym(KERN_EMERG, ret_addr);
}
if (--cnt < 0)
break;
@@ -124,7 +124,7 @@ static void __dump(struct task_struct *tsk, unsigned long *base_reg)
ret_addr = ftrace_graph_ret_addr(
tsk, &graph, ret_addr, NULL);
- print_ip_sym(ret_addr);
+ print_ip_sym(KERN_EMERG, ret_addr);
}
if (--cnt < 0)
break;
diff --git a/arch/riscv/kernel/stacktrace.c b/arch/riscv/kernel/stacktrace.c
index 837b9b38f825..9f1ac258482f 100644
--- a/arch/riscv/kernel/stacktrace.c
+++ b/arch/riscv/kernel/stacktrace.c
@@ -99,7 +99,7 @@ void notrace walk_stackframe(struct task_struct *task,
static bool print_trace_address(unsigned long pc, void *arg)
{
- print_ip_sym(pc);
+ print_ip_sym(KERN_DEFAULT, pc);
return false;
}