aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/alpha/mm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>2019-12-04 16:53:44 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2019-12-04 19:44:14 -0800
commita73c948952ccd663b47f6cf59ac0fcae5bf0512c (patch)
treed5cd6ea2e2ad6ff0e0a03566f9969f18c21b2a2e /arch/alpha/mm
parentb27d8517365eeac907de1cc1e91053ccf18179c3 (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-a73c948952ccd663b47f6cf59ac0fcae5bf0512c.tar.gz
alpha: use pgtable-nopud instead of 4level-fixup
Patch series "mm: remove __ARCH_HAS_4LEVEL_HACK", v13. These patches convert several architectures to use page table folding and remove __ARCH_HAS_4LEVEL_HACK along with include/asm-generic/4level-fixup.h. For the nommu configurations the folding is already implemented by the generic code so the only change was to use the appropriate header file. As for the rest, the changes are mostly about mechanical replacement of pgd accessors with pud/pmd ones and the addition of higher levels to page table traversals. With Vineet's patches from "elide extraneous generated code for folded p4d/pud/pmd" series [1] there is a small shrink of the kernel size of about -0.01% for the defconfig builds. This patch (of 13): It is not likely alpha will have 5-level page tables. Replace usage of include/asm-generic/4level-fixup.h and implied __ARCH_HAS_4LEVEL_HACK with include/asm-generic/pgtable-nopud.h and adjust page table manipulation macros and functions accordingly. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1572938135-31886-2-git-send-email-rppt@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Anton Ivanov <anton.ivanov@cambridgegreys.com> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com> Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de> Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name> Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Peter Rosin <peda@axentia.se> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: Rolf Eike Beer <eike-kernel@sf-tec.de> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Sam Creasey <sammy@sammy.net> Cc: Vincent Chen <deanbo422@gmail.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <Vineet.Gupta1@synopsys.com> Cc: Anatoly Pugachev <matorola@gmail.com> Cc: Russell King <rmk+kernel@armlinux.org.uk> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/alpha/mm')
-rw-r--r--arch/alpha/mm/init.c12
1 files changed, 8 insertions, 4 deletions
diff --git a/arch/alpha/mm/init.c b/arch/alpha/mm/init.c
index e2cbec3789e8..12e218d3792a 100644
--- a/arch/alpha/mm/init.c
+++ b/arch/alpha/mm/init.c
@@ -146,6 +146,8 @@ callback_init(void * kernel_end)
{
struct crb_struct * crb;
pgd_t *pgd;
+ p4d_t *p4d;
+ pud_t *pud;
pmd_t *pmd;
void *two_pages;
@@ -184,8 +186,10 @@ callback_init(void * kernel_end)
memset(two_pages, 0, 2*PAGE_SIZE);
pgd = pgd_offset_k(VMALLOC_START);
- pgd_set(pgd, (pmd_t *)two_pages);
- pmd = pmd_offset(pgd, VMALLOC_START);
+ p4d = p4d_offset(pgd, VMALLOC_START);
+ pud = pud_offset(p4d, VMALLOC_START);
+ pud_set(pud, (pmd_t *)two_pages);
+ pmd = pmd_offset(pud, VMALLOC_START);
pmd_set(pmd, (pte_t *)(two_pages + PAGE_SIZE));
if (alpha_using_srm) {
@@ -214,9 +218,9 @@ callback_init(void * kernel_end)
/* Newer consoles (especially on larger
systems) may require more pages of
PTEs. Grab additional pages as needed. */
- if (pmd != pmd_offset(pgd, vaddr)) {
+ if (pmd != pmd_offset(pud, vaddr)) {
memset(kernel_end, 0, PAGE_SIZE);
- pmd = pmd_offset(pgd, vaddr);
+ pmd = pmd_offset(pud, vaddr);
pmd_set(pmd, (pte_t *)kernel_end);
kernel_end += PAGE_SIZE;
}