aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAlexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>2016-05-10 16:18:33 +0300
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2016-05-12 14:46:11 +0200
commit9f448cd3cbcec8995935e60b27802ae56aac8cc0 (patch)
tree88fb70609a177bdd879f691542d68295c82eea0b
parentab92b232ae05c382c3df0e3d6a5c6d16b639ac8c (diff)
downloadleg-kernel-9f448cd3cbcec8995935e60b27802ae56aac8cc0.tar.gz
perf/core: Disable the event on a truncated AUX record
When the PMU driver reports a truncated AUX record, it effectively means that there is no more usable room in the event's AUX buffer (even though there may still be some room, so that perf_aux_output_begin() doesn't take action). At this point the consumer still has to be woken up and the event has to be disabled, otherwise the event will just keep spinning between perf_aux_output_begin() and perf_aux_output_end() until its context gets unscheduled. Again, for cpu-wide events this means never, so once in this condition, they will be forever losing data. Fix this by disabling the event and waking up the consumer in case of a truncated AUX record. Reported-by: Markus Metzger <markus.t.metzger@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@infradead.org> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu> Cc: vince@deater.net Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1462886313-13660-3-git-send-email-alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
-rw-r--r--kernel/events/ring_buffer.c10
1 files changed, 9 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/events/ring_buffer.c b/kernel/events/ring_buffer.c
index c61f0cbd308b..7611d0f66cf8 100644
--- a/kernel/events/ring_buffer.c
+++ b/kernel/events/ring_buffer.c
@@ -347,6 +347,7 @@ void perf_aux_output_end(struct perf_output_handle *handle, unsigned long size,
bool truncated)
{
struct ring_buffer *rb = handle->rb;
+ bool wakeup = truncated;
unsigned long aux_head;
u64 flags = 0;
@@ -375,9 +376,16 @@ void perf_aux_output_end(struct perf_output_handle *handle, unsigned long size,
aux_head = rb->user_page->aux_head = local_read(&rb->aux_head);
if (aux_head - local_read(&rb->aux_wakeup) >= rb->aux_watermark) {
- perf_output_wakeup(handle);
+ wakeup = true;
local_add(rb->aux_watermark, &rb->aux_wakeup);
}
+
+ if (wakeup) {
+ if (truncated)
+ handle->event->pending_disable = 1;
+ perf_output_wakeup(handle);
+ }
+
handle->event = NULL;
local_set(&rb->aux_nest, 0);