aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/mm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@oracle.com>2018-08-17 15:49:26 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2018-08-17 16:20:32 -0700
commite131c06b14b8601e2b1dbc7ec9cc6418c293a067 (patch)
treee396cccbb1fdb005f54f89b40e4c3f06e5f4aa9f /mm
parent35fd1eb1e8212c02f6eae24335a9e5b80f9519b4 (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-e131c06b14b8601e2b1dbc7ec9cc6418c293a067.tar.gz
mm/sparse: use the new sparse buffer functions in non-vmemmap
non-vmemmap sparse also allocated large contiguous chunk of memory, and if fails falls back to smaller allocations. Use the same functions to allocate buffer as the vmemmap-sparse Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180712203730.8703-3-pasha.tatashin@oracle.com Signed-off-by: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@oracle.com> Tested-by: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> [powerpc] Reviewed-by: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de> Tested-by: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de> Cc: Pasha Tatashin <Pavel.Tatashin@microsoft.com> Cc: Abdul Haleem <abdhalee@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com> Cc: Daniel Jordan <daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz> Cc: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com> Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org> Cc: Souptick Joarder <jrdr.linux@gmail.com> Cc: Steven Sistare <steven.sistare@oracle.com> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: Wei Yang <richard.weiyang@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm')
-rw-r--r--mm/sparse.c41
1 files changed, 14 insertions, 27 deletions
diff --git a/mm/sparse.c b/mm/sparse.c
index 9a0a5f598469..db4867b62fff 100644
--- a/mm/sparse.c
+++ b/mm/sparse.c
@@ -408,13 +408,20 @@ unsigned long __init section_map_size(void)
}
#else
+unsigned long __init section_map_size(void)
+{
+ return PAGE_ALIGN(sizeof(struct page) * PAGES_PER_SECTION);
+}
+
struct page __init *sparse_mem_map_populate(unsigned long pnum, int nid,
struct vmem_altmap *altmap)
{
- struct page *map;
- unsigned long size;
+ unsigned long size = section_map_size();
+ struct page *map = sparse_buffer_alloc(size);
+
+ if (map)
+ return map;
- size = PAGE_ALIGN(sizeof(struct page) * PAGES_PER_SECTION);
map = memblock_virt_alloc_try_nid(size,
PAGE_SIZE, __pa(MAX_DMA_ADDRESS),
BOOTMEM_ALLOC_ACCESSIBLE, nid);
@@ -425,42 +432,22 @@ void __init sparse_mem_maps_populate_node(struct page **map_map,
unsigned long pnum_end,
unsigned long map_count, int nodeid)
{
- void *map;
unsigned long pnum;
- unsigned long size = sizeof(struct page) * PAGES_PER_SECTION;
- int nr_consumed_maps;
-
- size = PAGE_ALIGN(size);
- map = memblock_virt_alloc_try_nid_raw(size * map_count,
- PAGE_SIZE, __pa(MAX_DMA_ADDRESS),
- BOOTMEM_ALLOC_ACCESSIBLE, nodeid);
- if (map) {
- nr_consumed_maps = 0;
- for (pnum = pnum_begin; pnum < pnum_end; pnum++) {
- if (!present_section_nr(pnum))
- continue;
- map_map[nr_consumed_maps] = map;
- map += size;
- nr_consumed_maps++;
- }
- return;
- }
+ unsigned long size = section_map_size();
+ int nr_consumed_maps = 0;
- /* fallback */
- nr_consumed_maps = 0;
+ sparse_buffer_init(size * map_count, nodeid);
for (pnum = pnum_begin; pnum < pnum_end; pnum++) {
- struct mem_section *ms;
-
if (!present_section_nr(pnum))
continue;
map_map[nr_consumed_maps] =
sparse_mem_map_populate(pnum, nodeid, NULL);
if (map_map[nr_consumed_maps++])
continue;
- ms = __nr_to_section(pnum);
pr_err("%s: sparsemem memory map backing failed some memory will not be available\n",
__func__);
}
+ sparse_buffer_fini();
}
#endif /* !CONFIG_SPARSEMEM_VMEMMAP */