aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/mm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@oracle.com>2018-08-17 15:49:30 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2018-08-17 16:20:32 -0700
commitafda57bc13410459fc957e93341ade7bebca36e2 (patch)
treec74fe86943c151a0d9430189404d8a9493c0410a /mm
parente131c06b14b8601e2b1dbc7ec9cc6418c293a067 (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-afda57bc13410459fc957e93341ade7bebca36e2.tar.gz
mm/sparse: move buffer init/fini to the common place
Now that both variants of sparse memory use the same buffers to populate memory map, we can move sparse_buffer_init()/sparse_buffer_fini() to the common place. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180712203730.8703-4-pasha.tatashin@oracle.com Signed-off-by: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@oracle.com> Tested-by: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> [powerpc] Tested-by: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de> Reviewed-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Pasha Tatashin <Pavel.Tatashin@microsoft.com> Cc: Abdul Haleem <abdhalee@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com> Cc: Daniel Jordan <daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz> Cc: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com> Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org> Cc: Souptick Joarder <jrdr.linux@gmail.com> Cc: Steven Sistare <steven.sistare@oracle.com> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: Wei Yang <richard.weiyang@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm')
-rw-r--r--mm/sparse-vmemmap.c2
-rw-r--r--mm/sparse.c14
2 files changed, 7 insertions, 9 deletions
diff --git a/mm/sparse-vmemmap.c b/mm/sparse-vmemmap.c
index b05c7663c640..cd15f3d252c3 100644
--- a/mm/sparse-vmemmap.c
+++ b/mm/sparse-vmemmap.c
@@ -270,7 +270,6 @@ void __init sparse_mem_maps_populate_node(struct page **map_map,
unsigned long pnum;
int nr_consumed_maps = 0;
- sparse_buffer_init(section_map_size() * map_count, nodeid);
for (pnum = pnum_begin; pnum < pnum_end; pnum++) {
if (!present_section_nr(pnum))
continue;
@@ -282,5 +281,4 @@ void __init sparse_mem_maps_populate_node(struct page **map_map,
pr_err("%s: sparsemem memory map backing failed some memory will not be available\n",
__func__);
}
- sparse_buffer_fini();
}
diff --git a/mm/sparse.c b/mm/sparse.c
index db4867b62fff..20ca292d8f11 100644
--- a/mm/sparse.c
+++ b/mm/sparse.c
@@ -401,14 +401,14 @@ static void __init sparse_early_usemaps_alloc_node(void *data,
}
#ifdef CONFIG_SPARSEMEM_VMEMMAP
-unsigned long __init section_map_size(void)
+static unsigned long __init section_map_size(void)
{
return ALIGN(sizeof(struct page) * PAGES_PER_SECTION, PMD_SIZE);
}
#else
-unsigned long __init section_map_size(void)
+static unsigned long __init section_map_size(void)
{
return PAGE_ALIGN(sizeof(struct page) * PAGES_PER_SECTION);
}
@@ -433,10 +433,8 @@ void __init sparse_mem_maps_populate_node(struct page **map_map,
unsigned long map_count, int nodeid)
{
unsigned long pnum;
- unsigned long size = section_map_size();
int nr_consumed_maps = 0;
- sparse_buffer_init(size * map_count, nodeid);
for (pnum = pnum_begin; pnum < pnum_end; pnum++) {
if (!present_section_nr(pnum))
continue;
@@ -447,14 +445,13 @@ void __init sparse_mem_maps_populate_node(struct page **map_map,
pr_err("%s: sparsemem memory map backing failed some memory will not be available\n",
__func__);
}
- sparse_buffer_fini();
}
#endif /* !CONFIG_SPARSEMEM_VMEMMAP */
static void *sparsemap_buf __meminitdata;
static void *sparsemap_buf_end __meminitdata;
-void __init sparse_buffer_init(unsigned long size, int nid)
+static void __init sparse_buffer_init(unsigned long size, int nid)
{
WARN_ON(sparsemap_buf); /* forgot to call sparse_buffer_fini()? */
sparsemap_buf =
@@ -464,7 +461,7 @@ void __init sparse_buffer_init(unsigned long size, int nid)
sparsemap_buf_end = sparsemap_buf + size;
}
-void __init sparse_buffer_fini(void)
+static void __init sparse_buffer_fini(void)
{
unsigned long size = sparsemap_buf_end - sparsemap_buf;
@@ -494,8 +491,11 @@ static void __init sparse_early_mem_maps_alloc_node(void *data,
unsigned long map_count, int nodeid)
{
struct page **map_map = (struct page **)data;
+
+ sparse_buffer_init(section_map_size() * map_count, nodeid);
sparse_mem_maps_populate_node(map_map, pnum_begin, pnum_end,
map_count, nodeid);
+ sparse_buffer_fini();
}
#else
static struct page __init *sparse_early_mem_map_alloc(unsigned long pnum)