aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>2018-08-27 11:12:28 +0200
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2018-08-30 14:49:24 -0300
commitbf06278c3fdf8909c3a9283e2c270b0fc170fa90 (patch)
treebc30ce6d098a933362a8c8053752e3d910564cd3 /kernel
parent969558371bf926258241727ebb994f516f2e6f61 (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-bf06278c3fdf8909c3a9283e2c270b0fc170fa90.tar.gz
perf/hw_breakpoint: Simplify breakpoint enable in perf_event_modify_breakpoint
We can safely enable the breakpoint back for both the fail and success paths by checking only the bp->attr.disabled, which either holds the new 'requested' disabled state or the original breakpoint state. Committer testing: At the end of the series, the 'perf test' entry introduced as the first patch now runs to completion without finding the fixed issues: # perf test "bp modify" 62: x86 bp modify : Ok # In verbose mode: # perf test -v "bp modify" 62: x86 bp modify : --- start --- test child forked, pid 5161 rip 5950a0, bp_1 0x5950a0 in bp_1 rip 5950a0, bp_1 0x5950a0 in bp_1 test child finished with 0 ---- end ---- x86 bp modify: Ok Suggested-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Acked-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org> Tested-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Milind Chabbi <chabbi.milind@gmail.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180827091228.2878-6-jolsa@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel')
-rw-r--r--kernel/events/core.c11
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 8 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/events/core.c b/kernel/events/core.c
index f6ea33a9f904..22ede28ec07d 100644
--- a/kernel/events/core.c
+++ b/kernel/events/core.c
@@ -2867,16 +2867,11 @@ static int perf_event_modify_breakpoint(struct perf_event *bp,
_perf_event_disable(bp);
err = modify_user_hw_breakpoint_check(bp, attr, true);
- if (err) {
- if (!bp->attr.disabled)
- _perf_event_enable(bp);
- return err;
- }
-
- if (!attr->disabled)
+ if (!bp->attr.disabled)
_perf_event_enable(bp);
- return 0;
+
+ return err;
}
static int perf_event_modify_attr(struct perf_event *event,